Library Guides: Civil & Environmental Engineering: Books + eBooks

Find Books & eBooks

Books

Use UC Library Search to find books, ebooks, journals, conference proceedings, videos and more.

Log in to UC Library Search in order to request items checked out by another patron or held in storage, renew your checked-out items online, or initiate an interlibrary loan request for items held outside the UC Libraries.

For materials not owned by UC Berkeley: Borrowing from Other Libraries.

eBooks

Find ebooks in UC Library Search by using the Refine your results options to limit to Available online.

Many publishers also allow full text searching of their ebooks on their native platforms. The following are major science publishers from which UC Berkeley has purchased ebooks:

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text engineering reference and handbooks, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of books and handbooks in bioscience, engineering, environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, statistics, social sciences, and other fields from Taylor & Francis including their CRC Press and Routledge imprints. Formerly ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, and similar collections.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Find technical information as well as analytical and search tools for the engineering community.
Collection of over 8000 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. Can be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of academic ebooks, encyclopedias, handbooks, and more with an emphasis in the sciences.
Springer Electronic Book Package This link opens in a new window
Full-text Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences.
Includes nearly 20,000 Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences, including Architecture and Design, Behavioral Science/Psychology, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, and more.
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes articles, ebooks, reference works, and laboratory protocols and databases.
Exclusions to the collection are textbooks and major reference works.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Online collection of over 40,000 ebooks, computer manuals, videos, case studies, and learning paths from O'Reilly and other technical book publishers
Note: Berkeley users may access this resource by selecting our institution "University of California, Berkeley" and logging in with CalNet. Members of the public (walk-in users) should ask the Reference Desk for assistance accessing this resource.
Includes content from O'Reilly, Addison-Wesley, HarperCollins, Manning, New Riders, Pearson, Prentice Hall, and other technical and business publishers. Includes over 30,000 hours of instructional video content.

Or, browse all available ebook collections in all subject areas at UC Berkeley.

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations Online

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Indexes graduate dissertations from North American and selected European graduate schools and universities. Dissertations by UC authors are available in full text from 1997.
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).

UC Berkeley Dissertations

For online access to dissertations published since 1997, see Proquest link above. To locate dissertations from a specific UC Berkeley department, search UC Library Search for the keywords berkeley dissertations <department name>.

Example: berkeley dissertations molecular and cell biology

Secondary menu

Civil & Environmental Engineering: Books + eBooks

Kresge Engineering Library closed until 2025

Find Books & eBooks

Dissertations and Theses