Skip to main content

Global Development: Introduction

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

See also:

Electronic Resource Finder

One of the most important research section of the library web site is the Library Electronic Resource Finder. This is the library directory of databases and other information resources, organized by subject (e.g. political science) type (e.g. encyclopedias) as well as other categories. It also contains a link to a comprehensive listing of library e-journals.

Purchase Recommendation

studying in the main stacksUse the Purchase Recommendation form to suggest items that the Library should consider for our collections. 

Catalogs and Search Engines

Find a book that matches your topic and go to the call number range to browse. Check the references and bibliography.

Start Your Search.    Books, ebooks, journal articles, JSTOR, and other content rolled into one integrated library platform.  Does not include content from many business databases, numeric data, and content from Proquest.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Google Books. Search the text of books, view previews still in copyright, and read full text of out-of-copyright books. To find a copyrighted book, use the "find in a Library" link to locate the book at UC Berkeley.

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library. 

Ebooks

ebrary. Our largest e-book collection, with over 50,000 titles on a wide range of subjects. Find them in OskiCat (keyword: ebrary) or search the ebrary website directly. 

Project Muse. Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include history, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. No restrictions on downloading.

Oxford Scholarship Online. Cross-searchable library containing the full text of books in many subjects, including economics and finance from 2008 to present.

Practical Action Publishing. Berkeley has access to all publications. Development organization working on renewable energy, food production,sustainable transport, water, sanitation, small enterprise development, building and shelter, and disaster risk reduction.

Springer Electronic Books.Includes e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences disciplines.

World Bank e-Library. World Bank publications from mid 1990's to present. Topics covered include: economics and finance, public policy, education, international development, poverty, gender, and more.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.