Skip to main content

Development Studies: Background

Background Country Information

Cambridge Histories OnlineSearchable text of the Cambridge Histories series.  The regional history section has large multi-volume books on regions (e.g. Latin America and Africa) as well as large and populous countries (e.g. China and India).

Library of Congress Country Studies. Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU Country Reports and Profiles. In-depth analysis of current economic and political events in more than 200 countries.

Europa World. Provides political and economic information on hundreds countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. 

Gale Virtual Reference LibraryCollection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.

Human Development Report Library Includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography. Covers all topics in human geography and related disciplines.

Oxford Reference Online - History.  Scholarly online historical encyclopedias and dictionaries, including military history, the Enlightenment, the Middle Ages, World War II, world exploration, African American history and more.

Routledge Politics and International Relations Online Scholarly online encyclopedias and reference books on globalization, international security, political thought, peace and conflict, political chronologies, and more.

World Development Report Library. Collection of the World Bank's flagship publication on economic development going back to 1978.

Development Reference Books

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.