Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Economics: Finance

Databases and Search Engines

Annual Review of Economics.  Reviews of the literature in economics for the year. See also the Annual Review of Financial Economics for reviews of the literature in finance.

Business Source Complete. Premier business and industry database with 1,100 peer-reviewed business publication.

Econlit. Most comprehensive database to scholarly journal articles in economics. Also lists books and dissertations, and articles within collective works.

Economics Research Network. Research network devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of economics research, part of the social sciences research network (SSRN)

IDEAS. Free database on economics with full-text working papers, books, book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.

National Bureau of Economics Research (NBER). Access to NBER research results through the working paper series.The NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. 

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS). Web-based business data service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, providing access to financial, economic, and company data. Restricted to current UCB Students Staff and Faculty: after registering a password will be sent by email.

  • Bank Regulatory. Databases for regulated depository financial institutions with accounting data for bank holding companies, commercial banks, savings banks, and savings and loans institutions.
  • Boardex. Very detailed information on membership of company boards, directors and senior managers in the United States, from 1999-present.
  • Bureau Van Dyck.  Global and European company fundamentals from the Orbis and Amadeus databases. Amadeus has company data for over 20 million public and private European firms for ten years. Orbis contains information on over 200 million public and private companies worldwide.
  • Compustat.  Fundamental data for companies trading on all major United States exchanges. Most files contain annual data, but there are also quarterly files.Data date back to 1950.  Executive Compensation has data for officers of S&P 500 companies from 1992.
  • Compustat Global contains fundamental data for major companies on international exchanges back to 1987, as well as constituent lists for major overseas indexes - see  the Compustat Constituent Lists Global from Princeton University.  
  • CRSP. Most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets as well as Historical Indices and Mutual Funds.
  • Event Studies and Intraday Data. WRDS Intraday Database contains stock market indicators obtained from NYSE TAQ data. Use the "event study" data sets and special software (Eventus) to upload and analyze your own events.
  • FTSE/Russell. Includes closing positions for all constituents of the 21 U.S. Russell Indexes at month end back to December 1997. Returns, market values, sector and industry classifications, and security weights are included. 
  • I/B/E/S. Historical earnings estimate database containing analyst estimates for more than 20 forecast measures, covering both U.S. and international companies.
  • Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS)​. Data on corporate governance and variables related to individual board directors.
  • Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database. Issue details on over 140,000 corporate, corporate medium term note, supranational, U.S. Agency, and U.S. Treasury debt securities.
  • MSCI. Ratings and analysis of environmental, social and governance-related business practices to companies worldwide.  
  • Option Metrics. Historical options data before mergers and acquisitions; exploring relationships between option prices and daily stock returns, and investigating possible cases of insider trading.
  • TAQ. Contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS).
  • Thomson Reuters. Includes mutual fund holdings, institutional holdings, insider filing data, and Dealscan. 
  • TRACE: OTC Corporate Bond and Agency Debt Bond Transaction Data, including securitiZed debt.
  • WRDS SEC Analytics Suite. Textual data for over 12 million aggregated SEC filings with text and html files for all 10-K, 10-Q,8-K, Proxy filings, etc, for  95,000+ covered entities

Financial News

The Economist. General interest news source about current trends in business, politics and economics worldwide. Locations for the print version can be found via Oskicat.  

Factiva. General and business news from local, national and international newspapers, magazines, trade publications, and wires. Includes The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, and Dow Jones.

Financial Times.  From 1998 to present. For historical see the Financial Times Historical Archive which has the complete run of the daily Financial Times from 1888 to recent years.

IGM Forum.   Features weekly polls of its Economics Experts Panel of leading economists in US and European universities, including several faculty from UC Berkeley.From the University of Chicago Booth Initiative on Global Markets. 

New York Times. Full-text coverage of the New York Times. For Historical issues see Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).

New York Times (Student Access). UCB students have a free subscription to the NY Times website while enrolled at UCB. UCB staff and faculty are not included. Please read the "more" link for additional description and account set up instructions.

Project Syndicate. High-quality commentaries on economics, politics, development, sustainability and innovation from prominent political leaders, policymakers, scholars, business leaders, and civic activists from around the world.

Wall Street Journal.  Via Proquest, also available via Factiva. For historical issues (from 1889) see Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).

Wall Street Journal (Student Faculty & Staff Access).UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff can have free subscriptions to the WSJ website. Please read the more link for additional description and account set up instructions.

Additional Data Sources

Amadeus.  Pan-European financial database containing information on approximately 20 million companies from 43 countries, including all the EU countries and Eastern Europe. Up to 10 years of detailed information and consolidated statements provided when available. From Bureau Van Dyck

CEIC Global. Database of over 400,000 time series covering a growing list of countries in Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Data items include: National Accounts, Industrial, Sales, Construction-Property,  Domestic and Foreign Trade, Stock Markets, Banking, Inflation, Monetary, Forex, Investment, and more.

Dun and Bradstreet Historical Records. Point- in-time data from a collection of over 280 million private and public companies in the United States.  One file per year from 1969 through 2018 with the exception of 1981 and 1984 which are unavailable. Variables include DUNS number, geographic codes (county, city, state, zip) sales, employees, and industry codes.  Please see:

Factset.  A comprehensive platform used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets, and public and private companies. Requires registration, UCB Students Staff and Faculty only.

Global Financial Data. Extremely long runs of historical data on U.S. stock prices and macroeconomic data for the U.S. and foreign countries. Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday.

IMF Annual Report on Exchange Agreements and Exchange Restrictions (AREAR) Database.  Tracks exchange and trade arrangements for all 186 IMF member countries, along with territories of member countries, offering a comprehensive description of exchange and trade systems beyond exchange restrictions or exchange controls.

Infogroup United States Historical Business Data. Geo-coded records of millions of US businesses with basic information on each entity, such as contact information, industry, revenues, employees, and other data annually from 1997-2018. Data files are compressed and software such as 7-Zip is required to unzip the archives. ​The following files for using the data can also be accessed from the link above.

  • Layout Files in Excel and PDF formats.
  • Business Data Compilation (PPT) – InfoGroup slidedeck reviewing data collection practices.
  • Assignment of SIC and NAICS codes (PDF)
  • InfoGroup NAICS to SIC conversion (Excel)

Orbis/Mint Global. Contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. Data is standardized for easy cross-border comparisons. Includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.

Pitchbook. Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff. Create an individual login before using.  Private equity and venture capital transactions and trends. Screen for investments, firms, funds, and portfolio companies.

S&P Capital IQ. Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff. Create an individual login before using; does not require EZProxy.  Public and private company financials and filings, private company information and investment details, M&A, industry surveys, screening and charting.

Statista. Provides access to facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Includes substantive industry reports.