Skip to main content

Economics: Environmental

Organizations, Search Engines and Reference Tools

Agricola.  Lists the holdings in the National Agricultural Library as well as indexing journals, books and government publications in agriculture and related fields.

Annual Review in Resource Economics. Critical reviews evaluating the most significant research developments in resource economics, focusing on agricultural economics, environmental economics, renewable resources, and exhaustible resources.

ARE Papers in eScholarship. Working papers from the UC Berkeley Agricultural and Resource Economics department.

CAB Abstracts.  Indexes the international agricultural literature. Covers topics such as biodiversity, biotechnology, environmental pollution, natural resources, forestry, and environmental policy. 

Econlit. Most comprehensive database to scholarly journal articles in economics. Also lists books and dissertations, and articles within collective works.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).  Scholarly content in the environmental sciences including ecology, agricultural biotechnology, energy, climate, pollution, and water resources.

Giannini Foundation Library.  Access to high quality information in Agricultural, Resource and Environmental Economics to support the research activities of Giannini Foundation members at the University of California.

Global Agricultural Trade System (GATS). U.S. foreign agricultural trade data(from the USDA’s Foreign Agricultural Service. GATS includes international agricultural, fish, forest and textile products trade statistics from 1989 to present.

Handbook of Environmental Economics. Handbook on goods and services that, because of the property rights failures stemming from externalities and public goods, are not allocated efficiently by markets. 

Ideas. Free database on economics and finance with full-text working papers, books, book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.  

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis.  International research organization in Austria conducting interdisciplinary scientific studies on the environmental, economic, technological and social issues of global change.

Selected Journals

Key Data Sources

Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN). Provides data and other information on the changing relationship between human beings and the environment. See especially the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center

Centre for PRTR Data.  Includes PRTR (Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers; USA version is the Toxic Release Inventory data from selected OECD countries.

Energy and Carbon Emissions Inventories Database.  Database designed to display the energy use, carbon emissions, and resulting energy and carbon intensities of the world and of the top 27 carbon-emitting nations, or 80% of global emissions.  From 1970 to present, annual data.  From the International Institute of Applied Systems Analysis.

Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal). Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including agriculture, air quality, biodiversity, coral reefs, ecosystems, endangered and threatened species, emissions, erosion, forests, human settlements, land use, ozone, pesticides, and weather.

Gemstar Global Water Database. Surface and ground water quality data sets collected from the GEMS/Water Global Network, including more than 3,000 stations, close to four million records, and over 100 parameters.

FluxNet.  Long term measurements of energy, water vapor, carbon dioxide, and energy from a variety of global ecosystms. 

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Socio-economic Centre. Data related to population, economic development, technology and natural resources for use in climate impact assessments.

International Energy Agency. Detailed international data on coal, electricity, natural gas,oil, renewables, carbon dioxide emissions from fuel combustion, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies. 

JODI oil. Joint Organisations Data Initiative . International JODI database providing current data on oil produced in 30 countries. 

Primary, Final and Useful Energy Database (PFUDB).  Historical database of energy use by country or region, energy level, sector, energy carrier, and end-use type for 20 countries, for the 20th century.

RICE Model. Examines alternative outcomes for emissions, climate change, and damages under different policy scenarios using the RICE model (Regional Integrated model of Climate and the Economy).

World Bank Climate Change Data. Large collection of climate change data from the world bank, from forest areas to CO2 emissions to urban populations.

World Bank. Data and Statistics. Environment. Various international, regional, and country data on various aspects of the environment.

World Input-Output Database (WIOD). Time series of world input-output tables and international supply and use tables; national input-output tables and national supply and use tables; socio-economic accounts; and environmental accounts for 27 EU countries and 13 other major countries in the world for 1995 to 2009.

World Resources Institute. Flagship publication is World Resources Report which provides an overview of environmental trends. Includes many data tables. Also includes datasets.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.