Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Economics: Labor

Databases and Search Engines

Econlit. Most comprehensive database to scholarly journal articles in economics. Also lists books and dissertations, and articles within collective works.

IDEAS. Free database on economics with full-text working papers, books, book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Labordoc. International Labour Organization (ILO) database on work, sustainable livelihoods, and work-related aspects of development, human rights & technology.

Labor Economists Gateway.  Links to labor economists' web sites, research centers, institutes, statistics and datasets, journals, e-books, documents, and working papers.

NBER Labor Studies Program. NBER program studying issues of employment, compensation, determinants of unemployment, effects of labor unions, and benefits.

Selected Data Sources - International

Eurostat. Publications and statistics from the EU. See especially the Labour Market section and EU Labour Force Survey

Foreign Labor Statistics.  From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Labor statistics derived from the foreign countries, the International Labour Office (ILO), Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), and the EU.

ILOSTAT. International labor statistics from 1979 to the present on employment, earnings, wages, migration, strikes and more, from the International Labour Organization.

International Data Base. From the U.S. Census Bureau. Statistics for demographic, and socioeconomic data for countries and areas of the world. Information dates from 1950 to 2050.

IPUMS International. Census microdata for over 90 countries worldwide.

Occupational Wages Around the World (OWW). Wages data derived by the NBER from the ILO. Data requires advanced statistical application software.

OECD iLibrary. Data from the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes data on labor and employment for OECD countries.

Penn World Tables. Freely available data on population, national income accounts and prices, from 1950.

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators for most countries and territories of the world.

World Development Indicators. Primary World Bank collection of development indicators.

Labor

undefined

"Static partial equilibrium with a single monopsony employer" (CC BY-SA.30) by SilverStar at English Wikipedia

Organizations

Center for Labor Economics. UC Berkeley center promoting research in labor market issues and policies. 

Institute for Research on Labor and Employment. Institute at UC Berkeley supporting multidisiciplinar research on labor and employment relations.

Labor Economists Gateway.  Links to labor economists' web sites, research centers, institutes, statistics and datasets, journals, e-books, documents, and working papers.

Hamilton Project. Puts forward ideas from leading economic thinkers to inject new policy options into the national economic debate.

NBER Labor Studies Program. NBER program studying issues of employment, compensation, determinants of unemployment, effects of labor unions, and benefits.

Society of Labor Economists. Primary academic association of U.S. labor economists, publisher of the Journal of Labor Economics

Selected Data Sources - United States

Data.Census.Gov.  Formerly American Factfinder. Data from the decennial Census and the American Community Survey about households, education, income, homeownership, business, and more.

Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).  Rich data repository that hosts archived data from researchers and the government, as well as other depositors. See the American Economic Review Open ICPSR repository.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Provides census and survey microdata from around the world integrated across time and space. Registration is required and is free. Includes the following:

  • IPUMS USA, U.S. census microdata. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present. Includes complete count data for several censuses up to 1940.
  • IPUMS CPSMicrodata from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS), from 1962 to the present. Demographic and employment data as well as special topics such as fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, internet use, food security, etc.
  • IPUMS International.  Harmonized International Census microdata from countries around the world provided to IPUMS from National Statistical Offices.

Longitudinal Employer Household Dynamics. Several data products that characterize workforce dynamics for specific groups. See the Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI), LEHD Origin-Destination Employment Statistics (LODES), Job-to-Job Flows (J2J), and Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes (PSEO).

National Longitudinal Surveys. Set of surveys gathering information at multiple points in time on the labor activities and other significant life events for individuals.  For access to the microdata also see the NLS Investigator.

Neighborhood Change Database. (NOTE: Calnet ID Login is enabled no password needed). US tract-level data and maps from the 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010 decennial censuses with tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years.

Panel Study of Income Dynamics.  Longest running longitudinal household survey in the world, from University of Michigan with data on ;employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, and other topics.

United States Census Bureau.  The principal source of periodic U.S demographic data. Major programs include the Census of Population and Housing and the American Community Survey.

United States Bureau of Labor Statistics.  (BLS). Data on inflation and prices, unemployment, productivity, wages, and much more. The BLS manages the following surveys and statistics portals: