Skip to main content

Economics: Agricultural

Organizations, Search Engines and Reference Sources

Agricola.  Lists the holdings in the National Agricultural Library as well as indexing journals, books and government publications in agriculture and related fields.

AgEcon SearchFree repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural economics.

AGRIS.  From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO). Focus on international development and documents from developing countries

ARE Papers in eScholarship --Working papers from the UC Berkeley Agricultural and Resource Economics department

CAB Abstracts--Indexes the international agricultural literature. Covers topics such as biodiversity, biotechnology, environmental pollution, natural resources, forestry, and environmental policy. 

Econlit. Most comprehensive database to scholarly journal articles in economics. Also lists books and dissertations, and articles within collective works.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM)--Indexes scholarly content in the environmental sciences including ecology, agricultural biotechnology, energy, climate, pollution, and water resources.

Giannini Foundation Library Access to high quality information in Agricultural, Resource and Environmental Economics to support the research activities of Giannini Foundation members at the University of California.

Global Agricultural Trade System (GATS) -- U.S. foreign agricultural trade data(from the USDA’s Foreign Agricultural Service. GATS includes international agricultural, fish, forest and textile products trade statistics from 1989 to present.

IDEAS. Free database on economics with full-text working papers, books, book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Key Data Sets

Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN). Provides data and other information on the changing relationship between human beings and the environment. See especially the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center

Centre for PRTR Data.  Includes PRTR (Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers; USA version is the Toxic Release Inventory - TRI) data from selected OECD countries.

Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal). Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including agriculture, air quality, biodiversity, coral reefs, ecosystems, endangered and threatened species, emissions, erosion, forests, human settlements, land use, ozone, pesticides, and weather.

Gemstar Global Water Database. Surface and ground water quality data sets collected from the GEMS/Water Global Network, including more than 3,000 stations, close to four million records, and over 100 parameters.

FluxNet.  Long term measurements of energy, water vapor, carbon dioxide, and energy from a variety of global ecosystms. 

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Socio-economic Centre. Data related to population, economic development, technology and natural resources for use in climate impact assessments.

International Energy Agency. Detailed international data on coal, electricity, natural gas,oil, renewables, carbon dioxide emissions from fuel combustion, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies.

RICE Model. Examines alternative outcomes for emissions, climate change, and damages under different policy scenarios. It uses an updated version of the RICE model (Regional Integrated model of Climate and the Economy.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Summary statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States with data from a variety of federal agencies. Earlier versions of the Statistical Abstract from 1878 to 2012 are available on the U.S Census Bureau's web site

World Bank Climate Change Data. Large collection of climate change data from the world bank, from forest areas to CO2 emissions to urban populations.

World Bank. Data and Statistics. Environment. Various international, regional, and country data on various aspects of the environment.

World Input-Output Database (WIOD). Time series of world input-output tables and international supply and use tables; national input-output tables and national supply and use tables; socio-economic accounts; and environmental accounts for 27 EU countries and 13 other major countries in the world for 1995 to 2009.

World Resources Institute. Flagship publication is World Resources Report which provides an overview of environmental trends. Includes many data tables. Also includes datasets

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.