Skip to main content

Economics: Economic Demography

Organizations, Search Engines, and Reference Sources

Center for Economic Studies. Partners within and outside the Census Bureau to improve measures of the economy and people of the United States.  Includes the Business Dynamics Statistics database and a listing of Restricted Use data for demographers and economists by agency.

Econlit. Most comprehensive database to scholarly journal articles in economics. Also lists books and dissertations, and articles within collective works.

European Society for Population Economies Facilitates communication in theoretical and applied research focusing on human capital and demographic variables in economics.

IDEAS. Free database on economics with full-text working papers, books, book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research.  Demographic research center investigating demographic change, aging, fertility, and other issues in population research.

Population Association of America.  Leading U.S. non-profit, scientific, professional organization that promotes research on population issues.

Popline. Citations for articles, reports, books, and eports related to population, family planning, and related issues.

Population Index. Indexes research in population and demographic studies, including books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics.

Population Reference Bureau.  Nonprofit organization informing people about population, health and the environment for research or academic purposes.See especially the datafinder and publications sections.

Selected Journals

These journals are specific to Economic Demography, but researchers in the field also publish in many other economics journals. See this listing of some highly cited ones for more information.

Journal of Population Economics
Demographic Research

Demography
Population and Development Review
Population Research and Policy Review
Journal of the Economics of Aging

Key Data Sources

American Community Survey.  Began in 2005, annual survey replacing the census long (15%) sample. Consider using  IPUMS.

American Factfinder (U.S. Census Bureau). Database for online source for accessing population, housing, economic and geographic data from the from the U.S. Census, including the Census of Population and Housing and the American Community Survey.

Census Neighborhood Change Database (CDs in Library Data Lab).  Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years.

Current Population SurveyIncludes many supplemental surveys on various topics such as child support, tobacco, voting, computer use, identity theft.  

Health Nutrition and Population Statistics. Health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from international sources.  From the World Bank.

Human Mortality Database. Detailed mortality and population data for researchers interested in the history of human longevity. From UC Berkeley and the Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.  Includes the following:

  • IPUMS USA U.S. census micro-data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present. Now includes preliminary complete count data for several censuses up to 1940.  
  • IPUMS CPS. Micro-data from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS), from 1962 to the present. Demographic and employment data as well as special topics such as fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, computer and internet use, food security, etc..
  • IPUMS International.  Census microdata for over 90 countries worldwide. 

International Data Base. From the U.S. Census Bureau. Statistics for demographic, and socioeconomic data for countries and areas of the world. Information dates from 1950 to 2050.

Neighborhood Change DatabaseContains US tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010 decennial censuses with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years with details such as population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables.

Penn World TablesFreely available data on population, national income accounts and prices, from 1950.

United States Census Bureau.  The principal source of periodic U.S demographic data. Major programs include the Census of Population and Housing available via American Factfinder and the American Communiyt Survey.

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators for most countries and territories of the world.

UN Demographic Yearbook System.  Statistics on population, births, deaths, marriage and divorce annually as well as economic activity, educational attainment, housing, ethnicity, language, and foreign-born and foreign populations by country from 1948.

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.