An online collection of thousands of books of high quality in the humanities. (American Council of Learned Societies Humanities e-Book Collection)
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
eBooks in Spanish, English, and Catalan published in Spain, Latin America, and the United States.
Digitalia e-books can be read as PDFs, HTML, or Flash files. To date, the UCB Library has purchased more than 1300 titles which are all discoverable in OskiCat. To preview the complete list search OskiCat for "Digitalia e-Books UCB access".
Search and preview millions of books and journals digitized from library collections such as UC Berkeley. Titles out of copyright are available in full.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Full-text of books and other tests available, mostly published before 1923 and in the public domain, from a variety of Libraries.
Searches and displays the full text of books and other texts on many subjects. This archive was created in part by the Open Content Alliance, which includes the University of California. All materials are in the public domain. Close to 10,000 volumes from UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library book and serials collection is available through the Internet Archive: The Bancroft Library portal.
Academic ebooks published by Oxford U Press. Narrow to Literature and to "unlocked" books. Read online or download by chapter.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
eBooks on Project Muse are available to download as unrestricted PDFs, though must be downloaded one chapter at a time.
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Ebook platform with access to hundreds academic publishers. The individual ebooks in this collection are also listed in OskiCat and Melvyl.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. (These e-books are also listed in OskiCat and Melvyl.)
Academic ebooks. Narrow to Humanities > Literature. We have access to books with an open lock. Download by chapter.
Exclusions to the collection are textbooks and major reference works.
The Library buys and subscribes to both individual eBook titles and collections of eBooks available to campus-affiliated users and members of the public using public-access computers in the Library. Those eBooks appear on various platforms--such as ProjectMuse, eBook Central, and Oxford, but you can find eBook titles using the Library's main search tools, Start Your Search and OskiCat.
All eBook databases.If you want to search for eBooks in a specific discipline, or those published in a particular time period or place, you might want to search a specific eBook database directly.