Skip to main content

Ethnic Studies: Media and Primary Sources

A Library Research Guide

DVDs and Non Print Media

Media Resources Center lists of media for Ethnic Studies

Media Resources Center:  Movies, Race and Ethnicity

How to Cite Media

You can also find non-print media of all types in OskiCat; search by keywords, author, subject, title, etc. and pull down the "Entire Collection" menu to the type of resource you want (maps, films, etc.)

All Media Resources Center materials must be used on-site.

Finding Primary Sources

Primary sources can be found in a variety of library tools:

For specific search strategies, see the Library's Guide to Finding Historical Primary Sources

Learn more about your topic in advance:

  • names of relevant individuals and organizations
  • dates of events
  • places
  • what terminology was used at the time by participants and observers? (ex:  negro or colored instead of african american)

Primary Sources for Ethnic Studies

The Ethnic Studies Library contains many archival collections in Asian American, Chicano, Native American, and Comparative Ethnic Studies including newspapers, documents, photographs, and more.  The largest archival holdings are in the Asian American Studies Collection which houses over 100 archival collections. See a list of some of the Ethnic Studies Library's archival finding aids on the Online Archive of California.  For more information, visit the Ethnic Studies Library website.

The Bancroft Library is a major repository for archival collections relating to the history of California and the West.  Collection strengths include California Indians, Spanish and Mexican California, Westward migration, the Gold Rush, the Chinese in California, Japanese American Internment, African Americans in California, and much more.  Browse many of the Bancroft Library's online finding aids and visit The Bancroft Library website for more information on how to use the collections.

Selected Databases for Primary Sources

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.