Skip to main content

Faculty & Instructor Resources: Articles; Cited References

Selected Article Databases

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles, journals and other publications in multi-languages; full-text is available 5300+ journals.

AGRICOLA:
Indexes books, articles, audiovisual materials, state agricultural and USDA publications.
Subjects: agriculture, agricultural economics, animal science, entomology, horticulture, nutrition, plant diseases, and soil science.
Coverage Dates: 1970 -

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Marine, freshwater, and brackishwater environments, aquaculture, conservation, meteorology, oceanography, and wildlife management.
Coverage:1971 - present

BIOSIS Previews*
Citations for articles, conference papers, and books on biological and biomedical topics. Includes literature reviews.
Coverage: 1926 - present

CAB Abstracts & Global Health
Covers environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses, biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development.
Coverage: 1912 - present.

Embase
Search biomedical literature; key resource for systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, 90+ countries, and conference abstracts. Broad biomedical scope with coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research.
Coverage: dates vary

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Covers agricultural biotechnology, air quality, aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, pollution, risk assessment, safety science, toxicology, water pollution, waste management, and water resource issues.
Coverage: 1967 - present

Faculty of 1000
Highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences and medicine, based on the recommendations of a faculty of selected leading researchers.

GeoRef
Indexes scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on geology and other subjects within the geoscience.

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Index of interdisciplinary global publications covering research in the history of science, medicine and technology.
Coverage: 1976 - present

PubAg
National Agricultural Library's database search for agricultural information. It is free on the Internet at: http://pubag.nal.usda.gov/.. contains full-text articles relevant to the agricultural sciences, along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles

PubMed
Use UCB access for UC eLinks to full text articles and citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, others in medicine and life sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present dates vary.

PubMed Central (PMC)
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Covers: dates vary | Full text

Scopus
Cited references available from 1996 forward. A Journal Analyzer tool assesses journal performance. Includes all of the Medline database and more than 23 million patents.
Coverage:1960 - present; cited references from 1996 - present

Web of Science*
Multidisciplinary. Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, search footnotes and  citations. Coverage: 1900 - present

Zoological Record
Covers all aspects of zoology including systematics, ecology, behavior, evolution and conservation

Cited Reference Search

Use Web of Science. Cited Reference Search. (Select Cited Reference Search from the "Basic" menu)
1. Enter Author;s name:
2. Select cited references (or select all) and click Finish Search.
3. Results page: click Create citation report or Analyze Results.

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.  Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand! Compare

  1. RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.
  2. EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central.

  3. Zotero: A free plug-in that works exclusively with the Firefox browser: keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service.

It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.