Skip to main content

Foodways: Food Culture, Cookery, Culinary Tourism: Reference

food and nutrition guide

Encyclopedias & Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Earth: Food. NCSE (e), an expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts..

Food and drink in American history : a "full course" encyclopedia Andrew F. Smith. 2013. BIOS Reference, TX349 .F5716 2013

Fast food and junk food: an encyclopedia of what we love to eat (e)

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project - an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. Michigan State University.

FOODnetBASE - Full text books that cover food safety, quality, processing, brewing, regulations, & microbiology. Includes information on latest functional foods, antioxidants, foodborne pathogens, and packaging technologies, and the new edition of Fenaroli’s Handbook of Food Additives.

Nutrition Care Manual by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Encyclopedias & Reference Resources

Dictionaries & Handbooks

AccessScience - Covers general science, food science and technology.

An A-Z of Food and Drink
/ John Ayto. (print)

American dictionary of culinary terms, a comphrehensive guide to the vocabulary of the kitchen

Food Environment Atlas (e-resource) Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Economic Research Service. interactive map, a variety of statistics.

The Cassell Food Dictionary

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.