Library Guides: Food Studies: Books, eBooks

UC Library Search - find books, ebooks, and more

UC Library Search is the University of California’s unified discovery and borrowing system. Use it to find books, articles, media, archival collections, and more across most UCB libraries (notable exception: Berkeley Law Library), as well as the collections of other UC libraries.

You can:

Narrow your search results using filters (ex: peer review status, date, and format).
Use Request to page items, place a hold, or request an interlibrary loan (must be logged in).
Save and export records to email or citation management software, or save searches.
View and manage (must be logged in) your:
Saved records, saved searches, and search history.
Requested, borrowed, and Interlibrary Loan items.
Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

See the UC Library Search user guide.

Statement from the Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library about harmful, offensive, or discredited Library materials.

Browsing for Cookery, Food Technology & Nutrition.

Use for keyword and subject searching.

RM -	Nutraceuticals
TP368 - TP660	Food Processing
TX1 - TX985	Home Economics
TX340 - TX640	Nutrition. Foods and food supply
TX640 - TX840	Cookery
QP1 - QP801	Physiology
QP141 - QP801	Nutrition, general
QR115+	Food Microbiology
SB175+	Food supply, GMO crops, microbiology

Online Resources

Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) This link opens in a new window
Nutrition information and clinical tools for health care professionals. Includes nutrition care for specific conditions; nutrition calculators; supplement formulary; client education materials and sample menus; and additional resources. (ADA Nutrition Care Manual)
Provides research-based nutrition information and clinical tools. Provides nutrition care processes for specific diseases; nutrition calculators; nutrition therapy foods and sample menus; and more.
Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource has been discontinued effective 4/30/24 due to library budget cuts.
"Access to encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more."
"Content reflects the interdisciplinary nature, and resources for studying food, in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
Includes: Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia, the Cambridge World History of Food, Bloomsbury’s Cultural History of Food and chapters from Food History: Critical and Primary Source. Image collections including the Culinary Arts Museum, USA and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, USA."
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Primary archival materials, visual ephemera, text, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
Content includes food labels, advertisements, documentary films, pamphlets, recipes, menus, books, photographs, and more.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of original manuscript and printed documents from around the world to support the study of fifteen major commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Provides original sources materials to help explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world. The commodities include: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems This link opens in a new window
Addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face.
The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work.
Encyclopedia of Food Security and Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary articles investigating sustainable food production in relation to the effects of global change on food resources, biodiversity, and global food security. Includes sections on nutrition, diet, food systems, agriculture, and more.
Comprehensive Foodomics This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 150 articles relating to food quality and safety and their links to human health and nutrition.
Topics include: transcriptomics, proteomics, metabolomics, genomics, green foodomics, epigenetics and noncoding RNA, food safety, food bioactivity and health, food quality and traceability, data treatment and systems biology.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America This link opens in a new window
Examines how social movements and other historical events impacts how food and drink is viewed, prepared, and consumed in America.
Articles cover American cuisine as it relates to people, advertising, historical eras, holidays and festivals, ingredients, and geographical regions.

Secondary menu

Food Studies: Books, eBooks

UC Library Search - find books, ebooks, and more

Browsing for Cookery, Food Technology & Nutrition.

Online Resources