Skip to main content

Funding Sources for the Social Sciences: Overview

Resources to search for funding sources for research in the social sciences.

Foundation Directory Online

The Foundation Directory Online provides access to the largest list available of funding sources for non-profits -- timely, comprehensive information on grant providers. Includes U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and public charities, plus a growing number of non-U.S. sources.

Campus Resources

The Data Acquisition and Access Program provides funding for UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff who need data (numeric or textual) that requires purchase, licensing or is otherwise restricted.

The Berkeley Research Impact Initiative (BRII) provides funding to Berkeley authors (current faculty members, post-docs, graduate students, researchers) and publishers (Centers, Organized Research Units, and Departments) to make their publications free to all readers immediately upon publication

UC Berkeley's Sponsored Projects Office provides an array of services, including a list of funding resources and subscriptions to Pivot(See the Pivot tab for more information on searching.)

Charlene Liebau Library Prize for Undergraduate Research: $750 lower division, $1,000 upper division -- up to six awards. Applications due Dec-April.

UC Berkeley's Graduate Fellowships and Awards Office handles over 600 fellowship funds, each with unique criteria and terms for awarding.

Kids First—David L. Kirp Prize rewards students engaged in new or ongoing work that demonstrates a commitment, whether in education or other domains, to creating a better future for children and youth. The award of $2,500 is given to one UC Berkeley undergraduate student each year.  

UC Berkeley's Scholarship Connection provides a search engine to non Berkeley awards and grants, including some for graduate students.

Funding by Discipline

Some professional organizations have their own search engines for finding funding. Some that might be relevant:

Who Funded What?

 PubMed provides a very helpful search on funding support.

Grants.gov News Feed

Loading

Grantwriting Resources

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.