Skip to main content

Global Health Research: IB C195/ PH C117: Statistics

Health Statistics

Center for Disease Control - CDC: Division of Global Health Protection.

CDC Data and Statistics
L
inks to much of the CDC's data, including surveillance, various databases, and laboratory information.
-- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) (CDC) The world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the U.S. yearly since 1984. Prevalence Trends, GIS data, Chronic Disease Indicators, as well as the survey data and methodology are available.

CDC Wonder
Access to Center of Disease Control reports, guidelines, databases, vital statistics, environment, population, disease and disability, immunization, behavior and health, injuries, occupational health, and more.

FDA Medical Devices: Product and procedure descriptions, recalls and alerts [US Food & Drug Administration]

FDA MedWatch: Safety information and adverse event reporting for medical products [US Food & Drug Administration]

Data Planet
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators.

DataFerrett (US Census Bureau)

A data analysis and extraction tool to customize federal, state, and local data. You can develop an unlimited array of customized spreadsheets and then turn those spreadsheets into graphs and maps without any additional software.

Data.gov

Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.

FastStats A to Z
Quick access to public health statistics organized alphabetically. Includes links to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

HCUPNet
A portal to health statistics and information on hospital stays at the national, regional, and State level. Generate tables and graphs.

Health Indicators Warehouse

pre-tabulated national, state, and local health indicators, reflecting population health, health care, and health determinants. The HIW  contains descriptive data to facilitate understanding and appropriate use of the indicators, links to evidence-based interventions. may be searched by topic, geography, or initiative.

Health, United States - annual report the National Center for Health Statistics, CDC.
An annual report on trends in health statistics. The report consists of two main sections: A chartbook containing text and figures that illustrates major trends in the health of Americans; and a trend tables section that contains detailed data tables. Prior editions back to 1975, also available online.

Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (Bureau of Labor Statistics)

Provides data on the number and rates of injury and illnesses by industry, details on the injured worker, nature of the disabling condition, and the event resulting in the disabling condition, and details on fatal incidents.

National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)

NCHS is the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency. NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care.

NCHS Interactive Tables and Databases

National Center for Health Statistics provides researchers with important health data through specialized data access tools and resources, including microdata, tables, and reports.

ProQuest Statistical Insight Search statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics.

U.S. Census Bureau
Publications, software, maps, and data sets. QuickFacts will get state, county, and city demographics (including age, race/ethnicity, income, residence, education), business information, and much more. There are many tools that let you focus in on specific locations and

 

Selected Websites


Global Health.Gov

Global Health Security Agenda. United Nations.

Medline Plus: Consumer information on health, drugs and supplements, plus a medical dictionary [US National Institutes of Heath]

NIMHD: The National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
One of the 27 Institutes and Centers of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the nation’s premiere medical research agency. NIMHD’s work touches the lives of millions of Americans burdened by disparities in health status and health care delivery, including racial and ethnic minority groups, rural populations, populations with low socioeconomic status, and other population groups.
http://www.nimhd.nih.gov/resources.html

ScienceWatch, newest and most read articles on health and scientific topics.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.