Skip to main content

Global Health Research: IB C195/ PH C117: Books, eBooks

Find books, ebooks, journals

Start Your Search [UC Berkeley Discovery Tool] Guide to Start Your Search: What's Included.

Oskicat [UC Berkeley]

  • Search for books, e-books, journals, dissertations, reports, topic, author or series.
  • Renew your books
  • Find course reserves
  • Request items from other libraries, storage, or checked out by other patrons
  • Refine your search to a specific library, available items or online items.

Melvyl  [UC, selected UCB libraries not in Oskicat]

  • Search for articles,books, ebooks, journals, dissertations from UCB-subscribed journals
  • Search libraries worldwide
  • Request items UCB does not own, create and save lists, automatically format citations.

Google Scholar

  • Lists articles, books, preprints, and reports. Specialized databases cover more completely.
  • Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; click on "Scholar Preferences", search Library Links for "Berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks."
  • Some listings also include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item.

Google Books

  • Search the full text of books Google has scanned
  • Read the full text of most out-of-copyright books
  • View previews or snippets from many books still in copyright
  • Find in a library link will locate the book if it is owned by UC Berkeley

eBook Collections

Search OskiCat for E-books: limit to "Available online /  in Melvyl: limit to "Online resources."

AccessMedicine
medical textbooks, including Harrison's Online, Hurst's The Heart, Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease (MMBID), AccessLANGE, and CMDT Online

AMA Manual of Style. American Medical Association.

CRCnetBASE (science)

Cold Spring Harbor Monograph Archive
covers molecular, cell, and developmental biology, genetics, evolutionary biology, neuroscience, cancer biology, and molecular pathology. Coverage: 1970-2000

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
A series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers.

PubMed Bookshelf
A searchable collection of online full-text biomedical books available from NLM.

Knovel, (science and interdisciplinary)

Oxford Scholarship Online (political science, religion, philosophy, physics)

Safari Tech Books Online (computers)

Springer E-Book Package

Complete list...

InterLibrary Loan & Services

UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff:
Interlibrary borrowing: obtain materials from other institutions; view My ILL Requests*

Research Library Cooperative Program (RLCP): Directly borrow materials from Stanford and UT Austin. Check RLCP website for eligibility.

Baker Document Delivery is a fee based Document Delivery Service for UCB faculty, staff, graduate students, and UCOP staff with current UCB library cards. To use Baker you must have a Baker account (see below). 

Copyright information: UC Berkeley, UC system-wide

Non-UC Berkeley users and institutions:
Interlibrary lending of original material: provides access to the holdings of the UC Berkeley Libraries to institutional borrowers in the United States and Canada.

Photoduplication services: provides access to the holdings of the UC Berkeley Libraries to institutions and the general public.

Special Library Access document delivery services: provides access to the resources of the UC Berkeley Libraries for libraries, information centers, corporations, and other organizations on a subscriber basis.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.