Contains life tables for national populations and, if available, the raw data used in constructing these tables." Data is provided for the United States, France, Japan, and Sweden. Note: The BMD has been replaced by the Human Mortality Database. HMD data are superior for most purposes, some items in the BMD are not yet available in the HMD or elsewhere.
Provides reports and data from surveys in developing countries on population, health, HIV, and nutrition. (Data access requires one-time, free registration.)
The DHS Program website assists developing countries worldwide in the collection and use of data to monitor and evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs. Demographic and health surveys provide information on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections, and reproductive health. Data is available using the STATcompiler, an online database tool that allows users to select numerous countries and hundreds of indicators to create customized tables that serve their specific data needs. In addition, DHS publications are available online, as are datasets (registration required for datasets access, but the data is available at no cost).
Provides access to FAOSTAT, the online searchable database of international statistics for the following areas: Food Supply, Food Security, Trade, Prices, and more NOTE: The free version of the database allows for limited downloads of up to 4000 records. For unlimited and "bulk" downloads a userid and password are required.
Global data on HIV/AIDS, TB, Malaria, socio-economic indicators, and more by country. Global Health Facts is comprised of more than 100 indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, and download the data for custom analyses. An option for raw data downloads is available in the results.
The HMD was created to provide detailed mortality and population data. Presently, the database contains detailed data for over 35 countries. A companion project is the Human Life-Table Database, which contains data for 40 countries.
IHME is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington that provides measurements of the global health problems and evaluates the strategies used to address them. Data visualizations and country reports are available, as is information from the Global Burden of Disease project.
Digital library from the Norden Cooperation, a regional government organization with countries from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Aland. [2005 - present]
Includes titles in the areas of agriculture, development, economics, education, employment, the environment, governance, industry, social affairs, migration and health, trade, and others in science and technology, energy, transport, finance and investment, and urban, rural and regional development.
OECD Health Statistics and Health Data
Consists of tables on health and health systems across OECD countries, an interactive database comprising data on a range of topics on the health care systems. Some time series go back as far as 1960.
Allows making custom tables based on hundreds of demographic and health indicators across more than 70 countries. STATcompiler allows users to visualize and explore these data in column charts, line graphs, maps, and scatterplot.
Statista A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics.
Statistics Canada Provides statistics on Canadian population, health, environment, economics, and much more.
UNdata Includes numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points that cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
Includes demographic, social, population, housing, advancement of gender, environment and energy, and vital statistics. Also includes information on methodology.
Includes the Demographic Yearbook, the compilation of statistics on population, education, immigration and more, going back to 1948.
WHO’s Communicable Disease Global Atlas brings together for analysis and comparison standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels. Includes maps.
WHO Global Health Observatory Provides access to an interactive repository of health statistics. Users are able to display data for selected indicators, health topics, countries and regions, and download the customized tables in Excel format