Skip to main content
Find books, ebooks, journals
Start Your Search NEW! [UC Berkeley Discovery Tool] Guide to Start Your Search
Oskicat [UC Berkeley]
- Search for books, e-books, journals, dissertations, reports, and other materials by topic, author or series
- Renew your books
- Find course reserves
- Request items from other libraries, from storage, or that are checked out by other patrons
- Refine your search to a specific library, available items or online items.
Melvyl [UC, selected UCB libraries not in Oskicat]
- Search for books, ebooks, journals, dissertations, and articles from UCB-subscribed journals
- Search libraries worldwide
- Request items UCB does not own, create and save lists, automatically format citations.
- Lists articles, books, preprints, and reports in many subject areas (Reminder: specialized databases will cover more completely).
- Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; click on "Scholar Preferences", search Library Links for "Berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks."
- Some listings also include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item.
- Search the full text of books Google has scanned
- Read the full text of most out-of-copyright books
- View previews or snippets from many books still in copyright
- Find in a library link will locate the book if it is owned by UC Berkeley
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Dates: 1861 - present
Coverage: Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Search by: thesis advisor, topic or title term, author, and other fields.
UC Berkeley Dissertations
To search for UC dissertations, go to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
To locate dissertations from a specific UC Berkeley department, search OskiCat for the keywords berkeley dissertations <department name>.
Example: berkeley dissertations molecular and cell biology
A collection of handbooks in the environmental sciences
Covers human impact on the environment. Includes scholarly, government, topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy. Included Environment and Energy Daily; Land Letter. Key topics are: agriculture, climate change, energy policy, health/environment, public lands and water resources.
Collection of engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. Can be searched by topic or browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
E-books in collections marked * are also available through OskiCat and Melvyl.
You can limit your search in OskiCat to "Available online," and in Melvyl to "Online resources."