Skip to main content

Integrative Biology: Write, Cite, Present

What?

Reference managers allow you to download citations, collect articles share & manage references, PDFs, data, and documents. Some work with word processing to format citations and footnotes in papers and create bibliographies in a variety of styles.

Reference management tools

RefWorks

  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Web-based: use with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing.
  • RefWorks guide

EndNote

  • Academic price at EndNote.com
  • Desktop-based software plus EndNote Web
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users.

Mendeley

  • Free (up to 2 GB web storage) software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Zotero

  • Zotero guide
  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension or standalone program
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Papers

  • Software/web hybrid for Mac and Windows
  • Format bibliographies in Word and Pages
  • Automatically import PDFs together with citation
  • Search, highlight and annotate PDFs

Citation Research

Citation counts measure the impact of a publication, an author or a topic, by counting the number of times it is cited by other works. No Single citation analysis source covers all publications and their cited references.

Major citation count resources:
Scopus: can sort by Cited Reference. 
Web of Science: most interdisciplinary and comprehensive citation resource.
Google Scholar: citation information from scholarly journal articles.  - Change settings for full text UCB links.  
Other indexes
: Proquest, BioOne abstracts and more.
Publishers website: Wiley, Elsevier (ScienceDirect), SciFinder Scholar, JSTOR

Be Aware:
-- Google Scholar does not index all scholarly articles.
-- Author names can be tricky to search and results can vary depending on how the name is entered.
-- Variants in how the item is cited can result in more than one entry for the item under study.
-- The term "citation" in brackets [CITATION] at an entry, indicates that full text is not accessible through Google Scholar.

Images

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.