Skip to main content
artscape: DNP Musueum Information Japan: A web magazine on art updated semi-monthly and run by Dai Nihon Insatsu
Bijutsu jinmei kensaku 美術人名検索: Offers biographical information about 8,300 Japanese artists; provided by Shibunkaku
Cultural Heritage Online = 文化遺産オンライン: Offers brief explanations and images of cultural assets registered by museums and related organizations in Japan under the auspices of the Agency for Cultural Affairs
e-Museum = e国宝: Offers images and annotations on national treasures and important cultural properties owned by the national museums in Japan
Fine Prints: Japanese, pre-1915 (Library of Congress): The Prints and Photographs Division houses more than 2,500 Japanese woodblock prints and drawings, dating from the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries, by such artists as Hiroshige, Kuniyoshi, Sadahide, and Yoshiiku.
Intānetto myūjiamu インターネットミュージアム = Internet museums: Provides information about 7,800 museums and their exhibitions in Japan
Kokuritsu Bijutsukan shozō sakuhin mokuroku kensaku shisutemu 国立美術館所蔵作品目録検索システム = Union catalog of the collections of the national art museums, Japan: Database of art works held by 東京国立近代美術館, 京都国立近代美術館, 国立西洋美術館, and 国立国際美術館
Museum-net = 博物館 美術館ネットワーク: Provides classified access to various resources offered by museums in Japan
Tōbunken kenkyū shiryō dētabēsu kensaku shisutemu 東文研（東京文化財研究所）研究資料データベース検索システム: Offers various databases for searching books, articles, exhibitions, etc.
World of the Japanese Illustrated Book: The Gerhard Pulverer Collection (Freer Gallery of Art/ Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution): Offers various resources, including essays and videos in addition to the images of illustrated books from the Pulverer Collection
J-Film Pow wow
Japanese Film Database (JFDB): JFDB is managed by the Japan Foundation and UNIJAPAN and provides information on Japanese films released between 2002 and 2010, including film cast and staff, or film industry related companies
Kawakita Kinen Eiga Bunka Zaidan dētabēsu 川喜多記念映画文化財団データベース検索: Database covers books and journals held by the institute; searchable by keywords from table of contents
Kiroku eiga ākaibu purojekuto 記録映画アーカイブ・プロジェクト: Develops various activities for preserving documentary films
Kiroku Eizō 記録映像.JP: Database of documentary films offered by 岩波映像, 記録映画保存センター, 桜映画社, 資料映像バンク, 日映映像, and 読売映像
Midnight Eye: Visions of Japanese Cinema: A non-commercial, non-profit initiative; offers interviews, features, film reviews, and book reviews
Motion Picture Reprint Series (Center for Japanese Studies, University of Michigan)
Movie Walker: Database covers over 44,000 Japanese and foreign movies shown in Japan, including production date, names of directors, staff, and actors, annotations, and story
Nihon eiga dētabēsu 日本映画データベース: Database of Japanese movies since 1899
Screening the Past
Tōkyō Kokuritsu Kindai Bijutsukan tosho kensaku 東京国立近代美術館図書検索: Database covers the holdings of the National Film Center
Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival
Bibliography of Japanese History up to 1912 (Peter Kornicki): This is a revised edition of a bibliography of Japanese history up to the end of the Meiji period compiled by the author in 1996
Chihōshi Kenkyū Zasshi Dētabēsu 地方史研究雑誌データベース: A list of journals on Japanese local history research and their contact information, provided by Iwata Shoten
Chizu kūchū etsuran sābisu 地図・空中写真閲覧サービス: Provided by Geospatial Information Authority of Japan.
East Asia Image Collections (Lafayette College Libraries): Open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52).
Gaihōzu: Japanese Imperial Maps: Gives information about the Japanese military and imperial maps held at Stanford Libraries. 外邦図研究プロジェクト（大阪大学人文地理学教室） also offers much of research outcomes including newsletters and 外邦図デジタルアーカイブ（東北大学附属図書館・理学部地理学教室）
Higashi Nihon Daishinsai Fukk ō Raiburarī 東日本大震災復興ライブラリー (福島県立図書館): Offers guides to resources on the disasters of and recovery from the Great East Japan Earthquake and TEPCO Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant accident in 2011
Historical Photo Archive for the Period between the 1930s and 1945 (歴史写真アーカイブ) via Asahi Kikuzo II Visual: Provides access to 10,000 pieces of historical photos of the period between the 1930s and 1945 held by Asahi Shinbunsha
Japan Air Raids.org 日本空襲デジタルアーカイブ: This bilingual historical archive dedicated to the international dissemination of information about the World War II air raids against Japan was created by Cary Karacas and Bret Fisk
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records, National Archives of Japan = 国立公文書館アジア歴史資料センター: Digital archive of modern records held by the National Archives of Japan, Diplomatic Record Office of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and Library of the National Institute for Defense Studies at the National Defense Agency
Japanese Historical Texts Initiative: Covers texts from ancient chronicles, ancient gazetteers, ancient religio-civil codes, medieval stories, medieval and early-modern interpretive histories, etc.
Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period: Provides ca. 7,000 images of Japan from the photograph collection of the Nagasaki University Library
Kokuritsu Kōbunshokan Dejitaru Ākaibu 国立公文書館デジタルアーカイブ ( National Archives of Japan Digital Archive): Digital Archive provides access to the descriptions and digitized images of the historical records preserved by the National Archives of Japan
Kokuritsu Rekishi Minzoku Hakubutsukan Dētabēsu 国立歴史民族博物館データベース: The National Museum of Japanese History provides many databases related to their holdings, texts, and other research results in Japanese history
Mainichi Photo Bank 毎日フォトバンク: The digital photographic archive provided by Mainishi Shinbunsha offers access to ca. 330,000 images since 1850s
Nait ō Kinen Kusuri Hakubutsukan 内藤記念くすり博物館: Offers online exhibitions on various themes related in history of medicine
Premodern Japanese Texts and Translations: A bibliography of translations and reviews of the literary and historical works up to about 1600; includes works written in kanbun and Chinese
Senzenki Ajia Shokoku Shahin Korekushon 戦前期アジア諸国写真コレクション = Pre-World War II Asia in Photos: Includes 3,704 archived digital photos of people and places in the Pacific region taken by Rikugun Keiri Gakko held at Hitotsubashi University
Tōji Hyakugō Monjo Dētābēsu 東寺百合文書データベース: An image database of the collection of Japanese documents originally preserved at Toji and presently at the Kyoto Prefectural Library and Archives, consisting of nearly 25,000 documents from the 8th to the 18th centuries (a bulk from the 14th and the 15th centuries)
T ōkyō Daigaku Shiryō Hensanjo Dētābēsu 東京大学史料編纂所データベース: Databases including the index to 大日本史料; full-text of 大日本古文書, 大日本古記錄, and 平安遺文, the Online Glossary of Japanese Historical Terms, etc.
Visualizing Cultures: Image-Driven Scholarship: Launched at MIT in 2002. "The VC mission is to use new technology and hitherto inaccessible visual materials to reconstruct the past as people of the time visualized the world (or imagined it to be)."
Aozora Search: Web-scraped Aozora Bunko corpus provided by University of Chicago. Additional resource: Digital Japanese Literature: Aozora Bunko by Christopher Morse
Art Research Center (Ritsumeikan University) Project Archive プロジェクトアーカイブ: Offers a variety of databases and other resources
Bunka Dejitaru Raiburarī 文化デジタルライブラリー: Provided by the Japan Arts Council to support research and learning of the Japanese traditional performing arts; the Council also offers Introduction to Noh & Kyogen
Japanese Literature in Translation Search = 日本文学翻訳書誌検索: A database of translations of literary works into a variety of languages; maintained by the Japan Foundation
Japanese Performing Arts Resource Center (JPARC): An online resource center for research on and the study of the performing arts of Japan
Japanese Text Analysis (by Molly Des Jardin): Tools and resources for text analysis and natural language processing in Japanese
Japanese Text Initiative = 日本語テキストイニシアチブ: Texts of classical and modern literature; collaborative effort of the University of Virginia Library Electronic Text Center and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian Library
JapanKnowledge: In addition to basic Japanese reference sources including encyclopedias and dictionaries (e.g., 日本大百科全書, 日本国語大辞典, 國史大辭典, Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), JapanKnowledge provides access to 東洋文庫 (平凡社) and 新編日本古典文学全集(小学館) series.
Kokubungaku Kenkyū Shiryōkan Denshi Shiryōkan Dētabēsu 国文学研究資料館電子資料館データベース: Offers a variety of databases for Japanese literary studies, including 国文学論文目録データベース which covers articles since 1912. Also offers full texts from 「日本古典文学大系」(岩波書店), 「噺本大系」(東京堂出版), etc.
Kokuritsu Kokugogaku Kenkyūjo dētabēsu dēta shū 国立国語学研究所データベース・データ集: Offers various databases and data, including 日本語研究・日本語教育文献データベース, an online index to articles and book chapters covered in (1950-2009) and Kokugo nenkan 国語年鑑 (1960-2008). Nihongo kyōiku nenkan 日本語教育年鑑 2009 ed. of 国語年鑑 is available online.
Kokusai Kōryu Kikin Nihongo Kokusai Sentā 国際交流基金日本語国際センター: The Japan Foundation Japanese Language Institute, Urawa offers various teaching materials and information for Japanese language instructors
Nogami Kinen Hōsei Daigaku Nōgaku Kenkyūjo Dejitaru Ākaibu 野上記念法政大学能楽研究所デジタルアーカイブ
Nihongo Gakkai 日本語学会: Offers full text database of and table of contents of Kokugogaku 国語学 (1948-2004) Nihongo no kenkyū 日本語の研究 (2004-)
Premodern Japanese Texts and Translations: A bibliography of translations and reviews of the literary works up to about 1600; includes works written in kanbun and Chinese
Shibai banzuke 芝居番付: Research guide provided by the National Diet Library
the-noh 能.com: A gateway to the Noh
Waka/Haiku 和歌・俳句: Research guide provided by the National Diet Library
Waseda Daigaku Engeki Hakubutsukan Dejitaru Ākaibu Korekushon 早稲田大学演劇博物館デジタルアーカイブコレクション (The Tsubouchi Memorial Theater Museum Digital Archive Collection): Offers a variety of databases on theater and film studies
Bukkyōgaku kankei zasshi ronbun bunrui mokuroku 仏教学関係雑誌論文分類目録 compiled by Ryūkoku Daigaku Toshokan:
Aritles published between early Meiji and 1930, those between 1931 and 1955, and those between 1956 and 1969.
Digital dictionary of Buddhism = 電子仏教辞典: Edited by A. Charles 7/15/1995
Hanazono Daigaku Kokusai Zengaku Kenkyūjo花園大学国際禅学研究所: Offers databases including Zenseki Dētabēsu and texts for downloading
INBUDS Indogaku Bukkyōgaku ronbun dētabēsu インド学仏教学会論文データベース: Database of articles from academic bulletins, collected research essays, and other materials published since 1952; provided by 日本印度学仏教学会
Jinja pōtaru saito Nihon Jinja 神社ポータルサイト日本神社: Offers links to shrines in Japan
Kokugakuin Daigaku Dejitaru Myūjiamu 國學院大學デジタル・ミュージアム: Offers various digital resources, including Encyclopedia of Shinto, English translation of Shinto jiten 神道事典 (1994); Kokugakuin also offers Shintō jinja shiryō shūsei 神道・神社史料集成
Nanzan Shūkyō Bunka Kenkyūjo南山宗教文化研究所: Offers selected their publications online, including , T ō zai shūky ō kenky ū 東西宗教研究 Kenkyūjo hō 研究所報, and Inter-Religio
Nihon Shūkyō Gakkai 日本宗教学会: Publishes online journal and Religious Studies in Japan 宗教研究 for which an article index is available for issues since 1917.
SAT Taishō Shinshū Daizōkyō tekisuto d: Provided by the SAT Daizōkyō Text Database Committee, Graduate School of Humanities and Sociology, University of Tokyo ētab ēsu = The SAT Daizōkyō Text Database SAT 大正新脩大藏經テキストデータベース
: Published by 文化庁; recent editions available online Shūkyō nenkan 宗教年鑑
Sōtōshū kankei bunken mokuroku onrain kensaku曹洞宗関係文献目録オンライン検索：Article database for publications related to Sōtōshū since the Meiji period
Zenkoku jiin no kensaku 全国寺院の検索: Offers information about temples in Japan
Dētabēsu “Sekai to Nihon”データベース「世界と日本 」: Databases, full-text of important documents, and links related to international relations; provided by the Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, the University of Tokyo
E-Gov Denshi Seifu no Sōgō Madoguchi 電子政府の総合窓口 : Gateway to government-related information and homepages of Japanese government agencies
Japanese Company Histories (Shashi) Wiki: This project is an initiative of the Shashi Interest Group consisting of librarians and researchers in North America to collaboratively build and promote use of the library collections of Japanese company histories or shashi.
JETRO Nihon Bōeki Shinkō Kikō 日本貿易振興機構 (ジェトロ): Being a government-related organization that promotes mutual trade and investment between Japan and the rest of the world, JETRO offers latest world business-related news in various industries
Keizai Dōyūkai 経済同友会: Offers 企業白書 and other various reports
Kigyō Shiryō Direkutori 企業史料ディレクトリ: A direcoty of in-house arhives and repositories on Japanese companies provided by Shibusawa Eiichi Memorial Foundation
Kokkai Kanren Jōhō 国会関連情報 : Resources on the Diet of Japan, including 国会会議録検索システム: minutes of the Diet since May 20, 1947, 日本法令索引: indexes to the constitution, laws, government and ministerial ordinances, and bills, etc. provided by the National Diet Library
Nihon Gink: The institute conducts studies on theoretical, institutional and historical aspects of monetary and economic issues in the Bank of Japan ō Kin'y Kenky ū jo 日本銀行金融研究所 ū
Nihonkoku Kenp: An online exhibition prepared by the National Diet Library no Tanj ō 日本国憲法の誕生 ō
Ōhara Dejitaru Ākaibusu Denshi Bunshokan大原デジタルアーカイブス電子文書館: Databases and links to resources on labor and social movements in Japan provided by 法政大学大原社会問題研究所
Robert Britt's Japanese Legal Research at the University of Washington: Provides guides and links to useful resources
Saibansho 裁判所 = Courts in Japan: Offers information on the Supreme Court
Zenkoku Jicchitai Mappu Kensaku 全国自治体マップ検索: Links to official homepages of Japanese local governments from prefecture to the city level; provided by Local Authorities Systems Development Center (LASDEC)