Skip to main content
Media Studies: Selected Resources
Encyclopedias and Handbooks (online)
- The Encyclopedia of TV Includes more than 1,000 original essays from more than 250 contributors and examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and such topics as violence, tabloid television and the quiz show scandal. It also includes histories of major television networks as well as broadcasting systems around the world and is complemented by resource materials, photos and bibliographical information.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences: Media Nearly 100 articles on advertising and marketing, communications media, effects and audiences, journalism and print, politics and economics, and popular culture.
The Handbook of Media and Mass Communication Theory
Publication Date: 2014-03-10
"The Handbook of Media and Mass Communication Theory" presents a comprehensive collection of original essays that focus on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication. Focuses on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication Includes essays from a variety of global contexts, from Asia and the Middle East to the Americas Gives niche theories new life in several essays that use them to illuminate their application in specific contexts Features coverage of a wide variety of theoretical perspectives Pays close attention to the use of theory in understanding new communication contexts, such as social media
Encyclopedias and Almanacs (Print)
- Brown, Les The New York Times Encyclopedia of Television. New York: Times Books, c 1977. Main PN1992.18.B7 1977; Moffitt PN1992.18.B7 1977
- Erickson, Hal Syndicated Television: The First Forty Years, 1947-1987. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c1989. Main PN1992.55 .E671 1989; Doe Reference PN1992.55 .E671 1989
- Schemering, Christopher. The Soap Opera Encyclopedia New York: Ballantine Books, 1985. Main PN1992.8.S4 S341 1985
- Howes, Keith. Broadcasting It: An Encyclopaedia of Homosexuality in Film, Radio and TV in the UK, 1923-1993. London; New York: Cassell, 1993. Main PN1995.9.H55 H7 1993
- International Encyclopedia of Communications. New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.
Main (NRLF) P87.5 .I5 1989;
- Lackmann, Ronald W. The Encyclopedia of American Television: Broadcast Programming Post World War II to 2000. New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, Inc., c2003. Main PN1992.18 .L3 2003
- Melton, J. Gordon. Prime-time Religion: An Encyclopedia of Religious Broadcasting. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1997. Doe Reference BV656 .M45 1997
- Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Radio. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004. Doe Reference TK6544 .M84 2004
- Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Television. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, c1997. Media Resources Center PN1992.18 .M874 1997; Doe Reference PN1992.18 .M874 1997
Dictionaries, Thesauri and Quotations (Print)
- Alexander, Pat. Broadcasting Glossary. Singapore: Asian Mass Communication Research and Information Centre, c1994. Main TK 6634 .A39 1994
- The Broadcast Communications Dictionary. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
Doe Reference PN 1990.4 .D5 198; Main PN 1990.4 .D5 1989
- Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory. London; New York: Routledge, 2001.
Doe Reference PN 1993.45 .C75 2001 Media Resources Center: PN 1993.45 .C75 2001
- Ensign, Lynne Naylor. The Complete Dictionary of Television and Film. New York: Stein and Day, 1985.Moffitt PN 1992.18 .E57 1985
- Longman Dictionary of Mass Media & Communication. New York: Longman, c1982
Doe Reference P87.5 .L66 1982; Moffitt P87.5 .L66 1982
- Penney, Edmund F. The Facts on File Dictionary of Film and Broadcast Terms. New York, N.Y.: Facts on File, c1991. Doe Reference PN 1992 .P43 1991; Moffitt PN 1992 .P43 1991
- Reed, Robert M. The Facts on File dictionary of Television, Cable, and Video. New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, c1994. Doe Reference PN 1992.18 .R44 1994
- Slide, Anthony. The Television Industry: A Historical Dictionary. New York : Greenwood Press, 1991. Doe Reference PN 1992.3 .U5 .S57 1991; Main PN 1992.3 .U5 .S57 1991
- Watson, James A Dictionary of Communication and Media Studies. London: Edward Arnold, 1989. Moffitt P 87.5 .W38 1989
- Weiner, Richard Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications. New York : Macmillan, c1996. Doe Reference P 87.5 .W45 1996; Media Resources Center P 87.5 .W45 1996