Skip to main content

Nutritional Sciences and Toxicology: Write, Cite, Present

a library research guide to nutrition, metabolic biology, and toxicology resources.

What is it?

Reference managers (also called citation managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. Many work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record. Wikipedia comparison of reference management software

Reference management tools

RefWorks

  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Works with Word and Google Docs (UCB has Google Docs access via bDrive)
  • Drag and drop PDF files to create a new reference in RefWorks
  • More sharing options: You can share with various permission levels
  • Web-based: use with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from RefWorks
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing.

EndNote

  • Academic price at EndNote.com
  • Desktop-based software plus EndNote Web
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users. See our EndNote page for tutorials and additional information.

Mendeley

  • Free (up to 2 GB web storage) software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Zotero

  • Zotero guide
  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension or standalone program
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Papers

  • Software/web hybrid for Mac and Windows
  • Format bibliographies in Word and Pages
  • Automatically import PDFs together with citation
  • Search, highlight and annotate PDFs

Open Access Publishing

UC Open Access Policy
Open Access policy for scholarly articles authored or co-authored by UC faculty.

Berkeley Research Impact Initiative (BRII) (resuming mid-September 2014)
The Library will subsidize article fees for publication in fully open access journals. Follow the link to see eligibility rules and restrictions.

Free Open Access options for UC Berkeley researchers
Reputable Open Access journals where UC Berkeley researchers can publish without having to pay article charges.

Publish to maximize impact
Resources for retaining your copyright, selecting a journal, archiving in a repository, and other aspects of disseminating your scholarly work.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.