Skip to main content

Public Policy Research Guide: New to Berkeley?

This guide is intended to be a starting point for public policy research.

New to Berkeley?

This page is intended for those new to Berkeley and provides a quick overview of accessing and using the Library's many resources.

Connecting from Off Campus?

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus or via your laptop or other mobile device using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

UC-eLinks

Once you've searched a database to find articles, you may need to use UC-eLinks orange logo to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database isa bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the Uc-eLinks icon click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:

UC e-Links image

For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.

Interlibrary Borrowing

As a Berkeley student you are eligible to use books and articles from other libraries around the United States. 

Check OskiCat  to make sure UC Berkeley does not own the material you want.

Provide a full and accurate bibliographic citation, including author, title, place and date of publication, and series.  You can get citations from professors, from Melvyl, from other articles, from Google scholar.  Verify your citations before submitting them for ILL.

Computers, Printing and Scanning at UC Berkeley

The Berkeley campus provides several WiFi networks.  AirBears2 and Eduroam will allow you to access the Library's databases. CalVisitor does not provide access to the Library subscription databases. Libraries allow students to pay to print, pay to copy/scan to print, and free scanning to a USB drive of materials from the collection.  Berkeley students and faculty pay for printing with your Cal1Card.  The following links provide further information.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.