Online encyclopedia describing the historical development of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada.
Covers more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals. (Online version of 7th edition, 2003.)
Covers the Islamic religion, and Islamic world in general.
Based on the 10-volume print encyclopedia and covers the Islamic religion and the Islamic world in general, both current and historical, including Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent, Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and other Islamic countries. Includes articles on political and religious institutions, history, topography, and distinguished Muslims both past and present.
Scholarly online encyclopedias and dictionaries covering all aspects of the Islamic world. Includes the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Koran Interpreted, The Concordance of the Qur'an and more.
Includes over 3000 entries related to all aspects of Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Also includes chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines. Incorporates either in part or in full essential articles from the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, The Koran Interpreted, and The Concordance of the Qur'an,
Scholarly online encyclopedia of quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within quranic studies. (Encyclopedia of the Koran)
An encyclopedic dictionary of quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names and cultural history. Includes nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes.
This resource is proposed for cancellation due to budget reductions. The comment period is open through Friday, April 6. We invite you to submit comments via email to email@example.com or directly with your subject librarian.Full text encyclopedia on Catholic theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and more.
Scholarly online encyclopedias and dictionaries on world religions, including the Islamic world, the Jewish religion, Hinduism, the Bible, and more.
Access to a number of reference sources published by Oxford University Press on religion including world religions, the Islamic world, the Jewish religion, Hinduism, the Bible, and more. Search all sources collectively or search within an individual title. Among the titles included are: The Oxford Companion to the Bible, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion, and The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy.
Use these resources to find reviews of religious studies books.
An index to the research literature of religion, including Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. (ATLAS) [1949 - present]
Indexes scholarly journals, books, edited volumes worldwide, and book reviews related to religion and theology, representing a wide selection of Christian traditions (including Catholic, Orthodox, Protestant, Evangelical, and Pentecostal), Islam, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Shinto, Taoism, Confucianism, and other religious traditions.
Part of Web of Knowledge that indexes over 1,000 leading arts and humanities journals, and allows searching of citations as well as subsequent articles that cite an article. (Web of Science) [1975 - present]
Book reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
The International Bibliography of Book Reviews in Scholarly Literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences indexes over 830,000 book reviews with subject listings in German and English. [Thanks to the Library's participation in a joint Germa0merican document delivery project called GBV, the Library can obtain copies of IBR articles from German partners in digital form quickly at no additional cost to users via Interlibrary Borrowing Services.]
Index of thousands of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Periodicals Contents Index) [1802 - 1995]
Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of some 475 journals published between 1802 and 1995. Interface change: as of June 2013, available via the ProQuest interface.
American and international surveys and data on religion. Includes data on religious adherents, religious freedoms, demographics, and other social measures as well as statistics on religious attitudes, behaviors, affiliations/identification. (ARDA - American Religion Data Archive)
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Contains detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Entries contain detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources.
Based on the 12th edition of Le Grand Robert de la langue francaise (2001), it is the most complete French dictionary. Contains more than 100,000 entries, 325,000 quotations, and millions of synonyms and cross-references to related sources such as Petit Robert des noms propres (2004) and the bibliographie generale du Grand Robert. Advanced exploratory features for usage, derivation, variation, and etymologies of individual words.
Full text biliingual dictionaries including English to Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Online versions of the following titles: Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary, Oxford-Duden German Dictionary, Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary, Oxford Spanish Dictionary, and the Oxford Russian Dictionary.