The study of incarceration, including the problem of race-based mass incarceration in the United States, involves analysis of social conditions, criminal justice practices and law. Most relevant law will be case law based upon court decisions, and less so the laws resulting from legislation. The Law Library at Boalt Hall is the campus home for research in case law; legal research databases are presented on their website. The reference staff will help all UC Berkeley students, not just law students. The resources presented in this guide are a selection from the large number of tools made available campuswide by the Library, and from public sources.
A reference source for the fields of criminology and criminal justice.
Comprising over 500 entries on the essential topics and informed by the latest theory and research, this innovative reference resource offers a state-of-the-art survey of the fields of criminology and criminal justice. It combines this breadth of coverage with the authority and international perspective of an experienced editorial team, creating a definitive reference resource for students, scholars, and professionals.
Summaries of more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Library collection. [1970 - present]
Indexes over 170,000 criminal justice books, journal articles, and reports published by the US Department of Justice, other local, state, and Federal government agencies, international organizations, and the private sector are indexed. Access is also provided to more than 7,000 full text documents through the NCJRS Virtual Library linked to the database.
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. [1952 - present]
Citations for journal articles spanning all Social Science disciplines; provides searching of footnoted citations. Specify Social Science Citation Index search only by deselecting other Indexes in "Limits". [1956 - present]
Indexes over 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Saving your search & setting alerts
The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America
by Wilbur R. Miller (Editor)
Call Number: HV6779.S63 2012 Doe Library Reference Hall
Publication Date: 2012-08-10
Encyclopedia of Theoretical Criminology
by J. Mitchell Miller (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: HV6017.E536 2014 Doe Library Reference Hall
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
by David Levinson (Compiled by, Editor)
Call Number: HV6017.E524 2002 Doe Library Reference Hall
The following are organizations which are leaders in prison reform and public education about sentencing, prison conditions, the death penalty and prisoner re-entry into society. The mission statements given here are taken from the organizations' websites.
The Innocence Project is a national litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted individuals through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice.
The Sentencing Project works for a fair and effective U.S. criminal justice system by promoting reforms in sentencing policy, addressing unjust racial disparities and practices, and advocating for alternatives to incarceration.
More Influential Publications on Prison Reform
The New Jim Crow
by Michelle Alexander
Call Number: HV9950.A437 2010 Main Stacks, Moffitt, Ethnic Studies, Anthropology, Environmental Design, Social Research libraries
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
From Lynch Mobs to the Killing State
by Austin Sarat; Charles J. Ogletree (Editor)
Call Number: KF9227.C2 F76 2006 Main Stacks, Bancroft libraries
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Writing My Wrongs
by Shaka Senghor
Call Number: HV9468.S46.S46 2016 Morrison Library; ordered for Main Stacks
The San Quentin Newsis a monthly publication written and edited by inmates of the San Quentin State Prison in California. "We present a progressive approach to criminal justice policies by reporting on positive changes in prisoner behavior, particularly through rehabilitative efforts" (website). The staff is advised by UC Berkeley journalism professor Bill Drummond.
News coverage from a national network of ethnic media outlets. Founded by Pacific News Service, NAM is a collaboration of and advocate for ethnic news organizations. [2002 - present]
Formerly the known as New California Media Online and California Ethnic Newspapers, this resource is national collaboration and advocate of 2000 ethnic news organizations. Includes news coverage from ethnic news outlets throughout the country.