Skip to main content

South Asian Studies: Archival Materials

Archival Materials

UC Berkeley's holdings on South Asia includes many rich archival collections. Some are displayed as online exhibits, such as Echoes of Freedom: South Asia Pioneers in California, 1899-1965, which draws on UC Berkeley's landmark South Asians in North America Collection.  A selection of UC Berkeley's Asian Studies materials can be viewed in A Hundred Harvests: the history of Asian Studies at Berkeley. Also online is a sample of our collection of photographs and printed materials relating to South Asians in California.

See our South Asia exhibits page and the South Asia special collections page for details. For information on using the collections on-site, please contact a South/Southeast Asia Library staff member.

Samples of collections

 

Below is a sampling of some of the archival materials in UC Berkeley's South Asia Collections and Southeast Asia Collections.

South Asia

Southeast Asia

Frontispiece from Karanti, November 1932, a journal dealing with social reform, from The South Asians in North America collectionat the Bancroft Library.

 

Young aspiring priest kneels before a seemingly endless row of Buddhas, from The McFarland Collection at the Bancroft Library.

 

A musician giving a concert of Indian music in California in the early 20th century, from the Archive of the South Asian Diaspora at the South/Southeast Asia Library.

 

Thai Nielloware craftsman exams his art work, from The McFarland Collection at the Bancroft Library.

 

Photo of King Dushyanta from the 1914 production of Shakuntula at UC Berkeley's Greek Theater, from the UC Archives at Bancroft Library.

 

Formal portrait of Queen Saowapa Pongsi who greatly improved conditions for women in Thailand during her reign, from The McFarland Collection at the Bancroft Library.

Photo of Shakuntula from the 1914 production ofShakuntula at UC Berkeley's Greek Theater, from the UC Archives at the Bancroft Library.

 

Member of Thai Royal Court poses in regal fashion, from The McFarland Collection at the Bancroft Library.

 

The late Indian Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru (1889-1964) on a visit to California, from theArchive of the South Asian Diaspora at the South/Southeast Asia Library.

 

Portrait of young Thai woman graces the camera in a photo taken in late 1800s, from The McFarland Collection at the Bancroft Library.

 

Portrait of Pulitzer Prize-winning Indian Amerian journalist Gobind Behari Lal, from the Bancroft Library's collection.

King Chulalongkorn of Thailand as a young man, from The McFarland Collection at the Bancroft Library.

Stockton parade

Parade in honor of Mrs. Lakshmi Pandit starting from the Stockton railroad depot on May 11, 1945. From Allan Miller's "An Ethnographic Report on the Sikh (East) Indians of the Sacramento Valley" (BANC MSS 2002/78 cz).

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.