Skip to main content

Spanish and Portuguese: Reference Sources

A library research guide

Reference Sources for Spanish and Portuguese

Use the following types of reference sources to look up information related to the study of Spanish and Portuguese:

Dictionaries, Thesauri and QuotationsBiographical SourcesEncyclopedias and AlmanacsAtlases, Maps and GazetteersWeb Portals

Dictionaries, Thesauri, and Quotations

General and subject specific dictionaries in any language, dual language dictionaries, thesauri, dictionaries of quotations, and acronym lists.

*Blue asterisk indicates that the resource was recently added to the guide.

Online
A complete list of licensed databases is available through the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

Print Dictionaries


Catalan

Diccionari de la llengua catalana / Institut d'Estudis Catalans. 2a ed. Barcelona: Edicions 62: Enciclopèdia Catalana, 2007.
Doe Reference PC3889.D493 2007

Diccionari manual de la llengua catalana / Institut d'Estudis Catalans. 1. ed. Barcelona: Edicions 62: Enciclopèdia Catalana: Institut d'Estudis Catalans, 2001.
Main Stacks PC3889.D555 2001

Gran diccionari de la llengua catalana. 1a ed. Barcelona: Enciclopèdia Catalana, 1998.
Main Stacks PC3889.G69 1998 & online

Galician

Dicionario de galego / Bieito Ledo Cabido, editor; Xelasio Suárez Santiso, xerente. Vigo: Ir Indo, 2004.
Main Stacks PC5412.D5142 2004

Diccionario da Real Academia Galega. 1a ed. A Coruña: Real Academia Galega: Vigo: Galaxia, 1997.
Main Stacks PC5412 .D445 1997 Library use only & online

Gran diccionario Xerais da lingua / Xosé Ma Carballeira, Anllo, coord. Vigo: Edicións Xerais de Galicia, 2000.
Doe Reference PC5412 .G73 2000 Dictionaries
Main Stacks PC5412 .G73 2000

Portuguese

Dicionário Houaiss da língua portuguesa / António Houaiss, Mauro de Salles Villar, Francisco Manoel de Mello Franco, eds. 2a reimpr. com alter.  Rio de Janeiro: Objetiva, 2007.
Doe Reference PC5327 .H68 2007 Dictionaries

Dicionário da lingua portuguesa contemporanea da Academia das Ciencias da Lisboa. Lisboa: Verbo, c2001.
Doe Reference PC5327 D535 2001 Dictionaries

Dicionário de inglês-português. 4a ed. rev. e actual. Portol: Porto Editora, 2005.
Doe Reference PC5333.D523 2005 Dictionaries

Dicionário de português-inglês. 2a ed. Porto: Porto Editora, 1998.
Graduate Services PC5333.D5 1998
Main Stacks PC5333.D5 1998
Moffitt Reference PC5333.D5 1998

Grande dicionário: lingua portuguesa / [direcção editorial, Graciete Teixeira ; coordenação, Margarida Faria da Costa, ...Porto: Porto Editora, 2004.
Doe Reference PC5327.G735 2004 Dictionaries
Main Stacks PC5327.G735 2004

Novo dicionário Aurelio da lingua portuguesa / Aurelio Buarque de Holanda Ferreira ; coord... 3a. ed., rev. e atual. Curitiba: Editora Positivo, 2004.
Doe Reference PC5327.F44 2004 Dictionaries & online

Vocabulário ortográfico da língua portuguesa (Academia Brasileira de Letras - 5.ª ed. 2009)
São Paulo, SP: Global Editora ; Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brasil: Academia Brasileira de Letras, 2009.
Doe Reference PC5345 .V63 2009 Dictionaries & online

Vocabulário ortográfico da língua portuguesa (Porto Editora - 1.ª ed. 2009) & online

Spanish (Peninsular)

Diccionario de arabismos: recopilación de algunos nombres arábigos / Diego de Guadix; estudio preliminar y edición, Ma. Agueda Moreno Moreno; prologo, Ignacio Ahumada. Spain: Universidad de Jaén, 2007.
Main Stacks PC4582.A8 G83 2007

Diccionario crítico etimologico castellano e hispanico / Juan Corominas. Madrid: Editorial Gredos, c1980.
Doe Reference PC4580.C623 v.1-6 Dictionaries

Diccionario de construcción y regimen de la lengua castellana / por R.J. Cuervo ; continuado y editado por el Instituto Caro y Cuervo. Bogotá: Instituto Caro y Cuervo, 1994.
Doe Reference PC4625.D52 1994 Dictionaries v.1-8

*Diccionario de la lengua española (Real Academia Española). 23a ed. Madrid: Espasa Calpe, 2014.
Doe Reference PC4625.A3 2014 Dictionaries & online

Diccionario de términos literarios / Ana María Platas Tasende. Pozuelo de Alarcón: Espasa, 2007.
Doe Reference PN41.P55 2007

Diccionario historica de la lengua española / Madrid, Real Academia Española, 1960-
Main Stacks PC4625 .A23 1960 v.1-20

*Larousse.com

*
Nueva gramática de la lengua española / Real Academia Española, Asociación de Academias de la Lengua Española. Madrid: Espasa Libros, 2009.
Main Stacks PC4105 .N84 2009 v.1-2

Tesoro de la lengua castellana o española / Sebastian de Covarrubias Horozco; edición integral e ilustrada de Ignacio Arellano y Rafael Zafra. Madrid: Universidad de Navarra: Iberoamericana, [c.1611], 2006.
Doe Reference PC4620.C7 2006 Dictionaries & online
Grad Svcs PC4620.C7 2006
Main Stacks PC4620.C7 2006

Spanish (Latin American)

Diccionario de americanismos / Asociación de Academias de la Lengua Española. Perú: Santillana Ediciones Generales, S.L., 2010.
Doe Reference PC4822 .A86 2010 Dictioniaries

Diccionario panhispanico de dudas. Madrid: Real Academia Española: Asociacion de Academias de Lengua Española, 2005.
Doe Reference PC4460.D5155 2005 Dictionaries & online

Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology. 2nd ed. / Thomas M. Stephens. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, c1999.
Doe Reference GN562.S74 1999
Anthro Reference GN562.S74 1999
Chicano Studies Reference GN562.S83 1999 Housed at Ethnic Studies Library

Guía para la interpretación de vocablos novohispanos / México, D.F.: Secretaría de Gobernación, Archivo General de la Nación-México, 2001.
Doe Reference PC4667.G853 2001
Bancroft Reference PC4667.G853 2001

Nuevo diccionario de americanismos e indigenismos / Marcos Augusto Morinigo. Buenos Aires: Editorial Claridad, 1998.
Doe Reference PC4822.M64 1998 Dictionaries

 

Biographical Sources

Online

Print

Brazil and Lusophone Africa

Diccionario de autores latinoamericanos / César Aira. Buenos Aires: Emecé: Ada Korn Editora, c2001.
Doe Reference PQ7081.3. A35 2001


Dicionário do Brasil colonial, 1500-1808 / Ronaldo Vainfas, direção. Rio de Janeiro: Objetiva, c2000.
Main Stacks F2524.D5216 2000


Dicionário do Brasil imperial, 1822-1889 / Ronaldo Vainfas, direção. Rio de Janeiro: Objetiva, c2002.
Main Stacks F2536.D527 2002

Dicionário de autores de literaturas africanas de lingua portuguesa / Aldonio Gomes. Lisboa: Caminho, c1997.
Main PQ9900.A52 G66 1997


A Dictionary of Contemporary Brazilian Authors / compiled by David William Foster and Roberto Reis. Tempe, AZ: Center for Latin American Studies, Arizona State University, c1981, c1982.
Main Stacks PQ9506.F6


Guia conciso de autores brasileiros = Brazilian Authors Concise Guide / organizado por Alberto Pucheu, Caio Meira; versão inglesa, Ernesto Lima Veras, Mariézer da Silveira e Sá. Rio de Janeiro: Ministério da Cultura, Fundação Biblioteca Nacional, Departamento Nacional do Livro, 2002.
Main Stacks PQ9511 .G84 2002

Portugal

Bibliotheca lusitana: histórica, crítica e cronológica. Nova edição. Coimbra, Atlântida Editora, 1965-67.
Main Stacks Z2722 .B3 1965 v.1-4
Facsimile of original edition published in Lisbon 1741-59 by Diôgo Barbosa Machado held in Bancroft and online via Internet Archive


Dicionário cronológico de autores portugueses / organizado pelo Instituto Português do Livro; coordenação de Eugénio Lisboa. Mem Martins, Portugal: Publicações Europa-América, c1985-
NRLF/Main Stacks PQ9027.D524 1985 v.1-6 (1985-2001)


Dicionário de história dos Descobrimentos portugueses / direcção de Luís de Albuquerque; coordenação de Francisco Contente Domingues. Lisboa: Caminho, 1994.
Main Stacks DP583 .A395 1994 v.1-2


Dicionário de história de Portugal / dirigido por Joel Serrão. 7th ed. Porto: Livraria Figueirinhas, 1981-2000.
Doe Reference DP535 .D52 1981 v.1-9


O grande livro dos Portugueses: 4000 personalidades em texto e imagem: nomes, datas, factos com 980 ilustrações / Manuel Alves de Oliveira e Manuela Rego. Lisboa: Círculo de Leitores, 1991.
Doe Reference CT1363.G73 1991


Spain


Diccionari biogràfic. Barcelona: Alberti, 1966-70.
Doe Reference DP302.C58 D5 1966 v.1-4


Diccionario biográfico de personajes históricos del siglo XIX español / Francisco Ruiz Cortes, Francisco Sánchez Cobos. Madrid: Rubinos-1860, S.A., 1998.
Main Stacks DP202.A2.R85 1998

Diccionario biográfico español. Madrid: Real Academia de la Historia, c2009-
Doe Reference DP58 .D533 2009 v.1-50 (A-Z)

Diccionario de los reyes de España / Manuel Rios Mazcarelle. Madrid: Alderaban, 1995.
Main Stacks DP59 .R57 1995 v.1-2


Enciclopédia de escritores en lengua castellana / Navarro Duran, Rosa. Barcelona: Planeta, 2000.
Doe Reference PQ6051.N38 2000


Quién es quién en España. Madrid: J.L. Campillo Alonso, 1999-
Doe Reference CT1353.Q53 latest year only
Main Stacks CT1353.Q53


Spanish Artists from the Fourth to the Twentieth Century; A Critical Dictionary / New York: G.K. Hall, c1993-c1996.
Art History/Classics N7112.S67 1993 v.1-4


Spanish Dramatists of the Golden Age: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook / edited by Mary Parker Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.
Doe Reference PQ6051.S63 1998


Spain and Portugal


Indice biografíco de España, Portugal e Iberoamerica = Indice biografico de Espanha, Portugal e Ibero-America = Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American biographical index = Spanischer, Portugiesischer und Iberoamerikanischer Biographischer Index. 3rd ed. Munchen, K.G. Saur, 2000.
Doe Reference DP58.A73 2000 v.1-10


U.S. Latina/o and Latin America

Dictionary of Hispanic Biography / Joseph C. Tardiff & L. Mpho Mabunda, editors ; foreword by Rudolfo Anaya. New York: Gale Research, c1996.
Main Stacks CT1343.D53 1996
Chicano Studies Reference CT1343.D54 1996


Hispanic Writers: A Selection of Sketches from Contemporary Authors / Brian Ryan, ed. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, c1991.
Doe Reference PQ7081.A1.H48 1991
Main Stacks PQ7081.A1.H48 1991
Chicano Studies Reference Z6511.H5


Index to Spanish American Collective Biography / Sara de Mundo Lo. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1981.
Main Stacks F1407.A12 M86 v.1-4


Notable Latino Americans / Matt S. Meier. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
Main Stacks E184.S75.M435 1997
Chicano Studies Reference CT215.M35 1997 & online via ebrary

Mexican American Biographies: A Historical Dictionary, 1836-1987 / Matt Meier. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
Doe Reference E184.M5.M4541 1988
Chicano Studies Reference E184.M5.M4541 1988
Bancroft Reference E184.M5.M4541 1988


Notable Twentieth-Century Latin American Women: A Biographical Dictionary / edited by Cynthia Margarita Tompkins and David William Foster.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2001.
Doe Reference CT3290.N68 2001

Library Databases

Encyclopedias and Almanacs

General or subject-specific encyclopedias, almanacs, and other collections of factual information. 

Online

Print Resources and CD-ROMs

*Biblioteca de al-Andalus / dirección y edición, Jorge Lirola Delgado. Almería: Fundación Ibn Tufayl de Estudios Árabes, 2004-2009.
Doe Reference DP103 .B53 2004 v.2-6 & A-I online via Fundación Ibn Tufayl

The Cambridge History of Latin America / Leslie Bethell, ed. Cambridge, UK, New York: Cambridge University Press, 1984.
Doe Reference F1410.C1834 1984 v.1-11 (1984-1995)
Graduate Services F1410.C1834 1984 v.1-8
Bancroft F1410.C143 1984 v.1-8, 10-1

 
Diccionario enciclopédico de las letras de América Latina / José Ramon Médina, director general. Venezuela: Biblioteca Ayacucho, Monte Avila Editores Latinoamericana, 1995.
Doe Reference PQ7081.D54 1995 v.1-3
Main Stacks PQ7081.D54 1995 v.1-3


Enciclopedia de la cultura española / Florentino Pérez-Embid, director. Madrid: Editora Nacional, (1962-68).
Doe Reference DP12.E5 v.1-5
Main Stacks DP12.E5 v.1-5


Enciclopedia de México
/ José Rogelio Ãlvarez, director. Ciudad de México, Enciclopedia de México, 2003-2005.
Doe Reference F1204 .E46 2003 v.1-14
Bancroft Reference fF1204.E5 2005 Reference v.1-14


*Enciclopedia del español en los Estados Unidos: anuario del Instituto Cervantes / Humberto López Morales, coordinador. Madrid: Instituto Cervantes: Español Santillana, c2009.
Doe Reference E184.S75 E556 2009
Main Stacks E184.S75 E556 2009


Enciclopedia hispánica. 2a ed. Barcelona: Editorial Barsa Planeta, c2003.
Doe Reference AE61.E56 2003 v.1-18


Enciclopedia Verbo luso-brasileira de cultura.
Lisboa; São Paulo: Editorial Verbo, (1998-2003).
Doe Reference AE37.E495 1998 v.1-29


Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American & Caribbean Cultures / Daniel Balderston, ed. London; New York: Routledge, 2000.
Doe Reference Hall F1406.E515 2000 v.1-3
Moffitt Reference F1406.E515 2000 v.1-3
Anthropology F1406.E515 2000 Reference v.1-3


Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
/ edited by Eamonn Rodgers, honorary assistant editor, Valerie Rodgers. London; New York: Routledge, 1999.
Doe Reference DP233.5.E63 1999
Main Stacks DP233.5.E63 1999 & online via ebrary


Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture / Michael S. Werner, ed. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997.
Doe Reference F1204 .E539 1997


Gran enciclopedia de España / Javier Arbues Villa, dirección editorial. Zaragoza: Enciclopedia de España, 1990.
Doe Reference DP12.G73 1990 v.1-22 (1994-2006)
Bancroft Reference DP12.G73 1990 v.1-22 (1994-2006)


Grande enciclopedia portuguesa e brasileira: actualização. Lisboa: Editorial Enciclopedia, Distribuição, Resomnia, c1981-c1987.
Doe Reference AE37.G7 1981 v.1-10


Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia / Michael E. Gerli, ed. New York: Routledge, 2003.
Doe Reference Hall DP99.M33 2003
Main Stacks DP99.M33 2003
Graduate Services Folios  f DP99 .M33 2003
Bancroft Reference DP99.M33 2003


The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States / Suzanne Oboler and Deena J. Gonzalez, editors in chief. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Doe Reference E184.S75.O97 2005 v.1-4 & online via Oxford Reference
Soc Welfare E184.S75.O97 2005 Reference v.1-4
Chicano Studies HN51.O868 2005 Reference v.1-4


Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies / edited by Mona Baker and Gabriela Saldanha. 2nd ed. London; New York: Routledge, 2009.
Doe Reference P306.E57 2009

Library Databases

Atlases, Maps and Gazetteers

Online

Print


Atlas cronológico de la historia de España / proyecto y dirección editorial, José Armando Fernández y Fernández ; editor, Miguel García del Rio. Madrid: Real Academia de la Historia, 2008.
Doe Reference Atlases DP56 .A85 2008


Atlas de España Espasa
. Madrid: Espasa Calpe, c1998.
Earth Sciences f G1965 .A75 1998


Atlas histórico de España y Portugal: desde el paleolitico hasta el siglo XX
/ Julio López-Davalillo Larrea.
Madrid: Editorial Sintesis, 1999.
Earth Sciences Reference G1966.S1.L66 1999


La división territorial de la España musulmana / Joaquín Vallvé. Madrid: Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas,
Instituto de Filogogía, Departamento de Estudios Arabes, 1986.
Main Stacks DP27.V351 1986

Library Databases

Web Portals

Broad, subject-related sites and subject-specific search engines.

Online

Library Databases

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.