Library Guides: SPANISH and PORTUGUESE: Digital Collections

Digital Collections in Spanish and Portuguese

E-book and e-journal collections, full-text online databases, and other digitized or born digital corpa in Spanish and Portuguese are listed on this page. Tools like OskiCat, Melvyl or the Library's new discovery tool - Start your search - can also aid in locating other digital content.

Finding E-books

The Library offers over hundreds of e-book and text collections in specific subject areas. Most of these e-books are also available through UC Library Search. You can limit your search to "Available online."

ACLS Humanities e-Book (HEB) Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
Humanities E-Book Project (formerly History E-Books Project) This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of important and frequently-cited books in humanities. (These e-books are also listed in UC Library Search.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.

Complete list

University of California E-book Projects

Google Books This link opens in a new window
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Internet Archive: Text Archive This link opens in a new window
Searches and displays the full text of books and other texts on many subjects. This archive was created in part by the Open Content Alliance, which includes the University of California. All materials are in the public domain. Close to 10,000 volumes from UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library book and serials collection is available through the Internet Archive: The Bancroft Library portal.
UC Press E-Books Collection (eScholarship Editions) This link opens in a new window
1400 online titles from the University of California Press covering a wide range of subjects. About 30% of the UC Press books, both in print and out-of-print are represented in this collection. Click on By Subject, for a title list by subject. Note that titles are viewable online but cannot be downloaded.

Spanish and Portuguese Electronic Text Collections

The resources listed below are freely available or via library subscription.

Library Databases

Digitalia This link opens in a new window
Collection of Spanish and Catalan e-books published in Latin America and Spain. (Digitalia Hispanica)
Digitalia e-books can be read as PDFs, HTML, or Flash files. To date, the UCB Library has purchased more than 2100+ titles which are all discoverable in UC Library Search.
Digital Scriptorium This link opens in a new window
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library, the Robbins Collection, and the Hargrove Music Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University, and the New York Public Library.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook This link opens in a new window
Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of more than 800 plays written by 16 Spanish dramatists of the 16th and 17th centuries. Dramatists included are: Lope de Vega, Calderon de la Barca, Agustin Moreto, etc.

Online

Biblioteca Virtual Miquel de Cervantes This link opens in a new window
Digital library that provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, dissertations, images and audio-visual resources.

Biblioteca Nacional de Espana: Colecciones Digitales This link opens in a new window
Provides access to several large digital collections including: Quijote, Posters of the Republic and Civil War, Cartography (16th - 19th centuries); Hispanic iconography, Goya, and Classic Spanish Works. In Spanish.

Complutensian Digital Collection / Coleccion Digitale Complutense (CDC) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 70,000 documents including scientific articles, old books and engravings, and doctoral theses from the Universidad Complutense Madrid. In Spanish
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers from more than 1500 European institutions. Europeana -- the European digital library, museum and archive -- launched in 2008 and is funded by the European Commission and its member states. This current prototype is one of many parallel projects of The European Library.

Lletra (Catalan Literature Online) This link opens in a new window
Includes the works of Catalan authors such as: Ausias March, Mrece Rodoreda, Quim Monzo, Ramon Llull, Jesus Moncada, Albert Sanchez Pinol, Carme Riera, Joan Brossa, etc. The site also serves as a gateway to other sites on Catalan literature.
LIBRO: The Library of Iberian Resources Online This link opens in a new window
Includes a number of basic texts and sources in translation focusing on Iberian history from the 5th to the 17th century. The list of texts included is based on recent but out-of-print university press monographs.

Philobiblon
Spanish Drama (UNC Chapel Hill- Internet Archive) More than 15,000 works of Spanish drama in the public domain from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
Tesouro Informatizado da Lingua Galega (TILG)

Secondary menu

SPANISH and PORTUGUESE: Digital Collections

Digital Collections in Spanish and Portuguese

Finding E-books

Spanish and Portuguese Electronic Text Collections