Skip to main content

Econ 154: Economics of Discrimination: Health

Organizations, Search Engines and Reference Sources

American Society of Health Economists. Professional organization dedicated to promoting excellence in health economics research in the United States.

Council on Health Care Economics and Policy. Non-partisan deliberative council that identifies critical issues generated by health system change, analyzes the economic impact of such changes.

EconLit. Most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). 

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research. A free bibliographic database on economics. Offering citations to thousands of full-text working papers, books and book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR.  High quality scholarly journals archive. Current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) are usually not available.

Elgar Companion to Health Economics. Edited by Andrew M. Jones

International Society for Pharmacoeconomists and Outcomes Research (ISPOR)Promotes the science of health economics and outcomes research and facilitates the translation of this research into useful information for health care decision makers.

The Incidental Economist. "Blog about the U.S. health care system (mostly) and its organization, how it works, how it fails us, and what to do about it." 

Medpac. Independent Congressional agency charged to advise the U.S. Congress on issues affecting the Medicare program. 

Principles of Health Economics and Policy.  Edited by Jan Abel Olsen.

PolicyFile. Index to public policy in the areas of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from a wide range of thinks tanks, Non-governmental organizations, and international governmental organizations worldwide.

RAND Health (Health Economics and Financing Program). Conducts studies on medical costs, insurance coverage, reimbursement models, and consumer health expenses, ncluding proposed health care reforms.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Non-profit, grant-making, and research organization with reports and data on health economics topics such as health insurance, access to care, and health care and prescription drug costs.

Selected Journals

These journals are specific to Health and Medical Economics, but researchers in the field also publish in many other economics journals. See this listing of some highly cited ones for more information.

The European Journal of Health Economics 
Health Affairs
Health Economics
Journal of Health Economics
International Journal of Health Care Economics and Financing

The Milbank Quarterly
Forum for health economics & policy
Quality of Life Research
Value in Health

Key Data Sources

California Health Interview Survey. The largest state health survey in the United States conducted every two years on public health topics and access to health care for Californians.

CDC Wonder.  AIDS cases by metropolitan and rural area, natality, cancer statistics, environmental data, mortality data, infant deaths, tuberculosis data, STD morbidity, vaccine adverse reporting, and population estimates.

Country Health Rankings.  Measur health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, quality of air and water, income, and teen births in USA counties. 

Data Planet. Access to data sets from multiple US and international source providers and subject categories, including health and health care.

Demographic and Health Surveys. Data on family planning, maternal and child health, sexually transmitted infections, and reproductive health at the county level. Registration required.

Health Nutrition and Population Statistics. Health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from international sources. From the World Bank.

HCUPNet. Provides access to national health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

Global Health ObservatoryHealth and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization. See also their Global Health Expenditures Database.

OECD Health Statistics. Health and health systems data across OECD countries. Indicators include: health status, health care resources and utilization, expenditures & financing, social protection, pharmaceuticals, non-medical determinants, and demographic and economic variables.

National Center for Health StatisticsWebsite for the nation's principal health statistics agency, compiling statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of Americans.

National Vital Statistics SystemListing of surveys and some fast statistics for births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths for the United States. 

Integrated Health Interview SeriesHarmonized data and documentation for the U.S. National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)

National Health Care SurveysSurvey data to answer questions of interest to health care policy makers, public health professionals, and researchers.

National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health. Longitudinal study of adolescents in the United States during the 1994-95 school year, followed into adulthood. Data on social, economic, psychological and physical well-being and data on the family, neighborhood, community, school, friendships, peer groups, etc.

Robert Wood Johnson Data Hub. Tracks state-level data and allows users to customize and visualize facts and figures on key health and health care topics.

Social Science Data Electronic Library. Collection of health and social science data sets covering a range of topics including AIDS, the disabled, the American family, aging, maternal drug use, child poverty, and alternative medicine. 

SHADAC Data Center. User-friendly and easily accessible way to get health insurance coverage estimates from the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement and the American Community Survey.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.