Skip to main content

Econ 154: Economics of Discrimination: Demography

Organizations & Search Engines

Econlit. Most comprehensive database to scholarly journal articles in economics. Also lists books and dissertations, and articles within collective works.

Family and Society Studies Worldwide. Indexes books, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, statistics, dissertations, and websites worldwide related to social science research about the family and society. 

IDEAS. Free database on economics with full-text working papers, books, book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research. Demographic research center investigating demographic change, aging, fertility, and other issues in population research.

Population Association of America.  Leading U.S. non-profit, scientific, professional organization that promotes research on population issues.

Popline. Citations for articles, reports, books, and eports related to population, family planning, and related issues.

Population Index. Indexes research in population and demographic studies, including books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics.

Population Reference Bureau.  Nonprofit organization informing people about population, health and the environment for research or academic purposes.See the datafinder and publications sections.

Survey Abstracts. Descriptive summaries of surveys from the Census Bureau Demographic Directorate.

Selected Journals

These journals are specific to Economic Demography, but researchers in the field also publish in many other economics journals. See this listing of some highly cited ones for more information.

Journal of Population Economics
Demographic Research
Demography
Population and Development Review
Population Research and Policy Review
Journal of the Economics of Aging

Key Data Sources

American Community Survey.  Began in 2005, annual survey replacing the census long (15%) sample. Consider using  IPUMS.

American Factfinder (U.S. Census Bureau). Database for online source for accessing population, housing, economic and geographic data from the from the U.S. Census, including the Census of Population and Housing and the American Community Survey.

Census Neighborhood Change Database (CD in Library Data Lab).  Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years.

Current Population Survey. Includes many supplemental surveys on various topics such as child support, tobacco, voting, computer use, identity theft.  Consider using IPUMS.

CPS Utilities.  (CD in Library Data Lab). Data, documentation, and extraction software for the Current Population Surveys. Includes all January, February, March, May, June, October, November surveys containing data from as early as 1962.

Demographic Yearbook System. United Nations statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce and more.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Micro-data for censuses from the United States back to 1850 as well as other nations. 

National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS). Contains aggregare U.S. census data and GIS boundary files for each census from 1790 to 2000.

PolicyMap. US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels: data on demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate, income, jobs, education, crime, and health.

SimplyMap. Requires user registration. Enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and other data.

Social Explorer. Current and historical census data and other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and  demographic and social change

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Summary statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States with data from a variety of federal agencies. Earlier versions of the Statistical Abstract from 1878 to 2012 are available on the U.S Census Bureau's web site

United States Census Bureau.  The principal source of periodic U.S demographic data. Major programs include the Census of Population and Housing available via American Factfinder and the American Communiyt Survey.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.