Skip to main content

Econ 154: Economics of Discrimination: Poverty & Social

Databases

Anthropology Plus. Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, and material culture. 

Contemporary Women's Issues. Indexes a wide range of journals, hard-to-find newsletters, reports, pamphlets, fact sheets, and guides covering a broad array of gender-related issues.

Geobase. Article database focusing on human and physical geography (select Geobase).  Unique coverage of non-English language and less readily available publications making this a good source for the multidisciplinary international literature.

EconLit. The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

PolicyFile. Index to public policy literature taken from reports from a think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection  Journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Labor Studies, Social Theory and more.

ProQuest Social Sciences. An interdisciplinary meta-search through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. 

Social Services Abstracts. Indexes scholarly and professional journals worldwide related to the fields of social work, social welfare, human services, community development, and social policy.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Indexes books, journals, and dissertations in political science, international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy.

Key Data Sources

Annual Statistical Supplement, 2010. U.S. Social Security Administration. Statistical information about Social Security payouts, Medicare, Medicaid, and other benefits programs.

ChildStats.gov.  Statistics and other information on child poverty.

County-Level Unemployment and Median Household Income. State and county unemployment and median household income.

Data Planet.  Comprehensive US statistical database that also includes some international data, e.g. from the World Bank and IMF. Excellent place to start.

Eurostat. Publications and statistics from the EU, with data in population, health, socio-economic, and much more. 

Health Insurance Main.  Includes the most recent Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States report, highlights, and current and historical tables.

Income Main. From the US Census Bureau. Includes the most recent Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States report, highlights, and current and historical tables.

Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States. Presents data on income, poverty, and health insurance coverage in the United States based on information collected in the Current Population Survey.

Local Area Personal Income.  U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). Personal income, compensation, employment, and wages. National region, state, MSA, and county statistics from 1969 to latest.

OECD iLibrary.  The statistics section includes data on taxation, health care, employment, social expenditures, and many other policy indicators.

Poverty Main. From the US Census Bureau. Statistics and surveys on poverty in America. Includes the most recent Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States.

Social Explorer. Current and historical census data and other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and  demographic and social change

United States Census Bureau.  The principal source of periodic U.S demographic data. Major programs include the Census of Population and Housing available via American Factfinder and the American Community Survey.

World's Top Income Database.  Top income share time series over the long-run for more than twenty countries to date, primarily from countries in Europe, North America and Developed Asia.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.