Skip to main content

Econ 154: Economics of Discrimination: Gender

Organizations & Search Engines

Contemporary Women's Issues  Provides full-text access to global information on women in over 190 countries. 

Canadian Women Economists NetworkIndependent association of persons in Canada interested in promoting women economists and their ideas.

Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (AEA). Standing committee of the American Economic Association charged with promoting the careers and monitoring the progress of women economists in academia, government agencies and elsewhere.

Committee on Women In Agricultural Economics.  Promotes the welfare of women and other underrepresented groups in the profession of agricultural economics by representing their interests and by engaging in activities to encourage their professional advancement.

Family and Society Studies WorldwideIndexes books, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, statistics, dissertations, and websites worldwide related to Social Science research about the family and society.

GenderWatch. International journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. 

LGBT Life.  Gay Lesbian Bisexual Transgender specific core periodicals, books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from periodicals and over a thousand select titles. Also has grey literature, newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.

JSTOR. Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.

​​Sociological AbstractsIndexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.

Women's Studies International. Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world.

Key Data Sources

American Community Survey. (IPUMS-USA).   The ACS is the premier source for detailed population and housing information for the United States.. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and ACS from 2000 to the present.

Current Population Survey. (IPUMS CPS). Monthly survey of the US population from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes many supplemental surveys on various topics, but especially the Annual Social and Economic Supplement (ASEC) done every March. 

Gender Institutions and Development Database.  From the OECD. Index measuring discrimination against women for countries worldwide: early marriage, discriminatory inheritance practices, violence against women, son bias, restrictions on access to public space, etc.

Human Fertility Database.  Data on changes and inter-country differences in fertility in the past and in the modern era.

IPUMS Demographic Health Surveys.  Facilitates analysis of the Demographic and Health Surveys, administered in low - and middle-income countries since the 1980's with variables on the health and well-being of women, children, and births. Additional DHS surveys are available from USAID.

National Longitudinal Surveys of Young Women and Mature Women (NLSW). BLS surveys on information on labor market activities and other significant life events of women and young women.

Gender Data (World Bank). Data  on education, health, public life and decision-making, and human rights of women and girls. 

WomanStats Project. Data on indicators of women's status in countries worldwide. Registration required.

Women in National Parliaments. World and regional averages of the percentage of women in national parliaments.

Women in Parliament Cross National Dataset. From ICPSR. Information on women's inclusion in parliamentary bodies in over 150 countries from 1945 to 2003. 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.