Skip to main content

GPP 105: The Ethics, Methods, and Pragmatics of Global Practice : Gov Info

.

International Development Organizations

The following directories and custom search engines may be used to locate development projects and interventions from International Development & Relief Organizations.

IGO Custom Search Engine
 


European Union Humanitarian Aid Office (ECHO). Humanitarian aid office of the European Union. Site includes lists of publications and decisions.

Human Development Report LibraryThe web site includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national human development reports from countries and regions.

IFAD Operations Database.  Portal of projects and programmes on poverty issues affecting countries world wide. From the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD).

OECD iLibrary. Online library from the OECD,  an international organisation that specilizes in development assistance information. among other things.

Relief Web. Web portal from the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs. Hails itself as "the world's leading gateway to information on humanitarian emergencies and disasters."

Rural Poverty Portal.  Portal from the International Fund for Agricultural development on a range of poverty issues, country reports and development strategies, from international agencies world wide.

World Bank E-library. Database of full-text World Bank publications.  See also their Open Knowledge Repository.

UNBIS.  UN Documents system catalog - use for exhaustive searches of UN documentation

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF). United Nations children's agency.  Provides long-term humanitarian and developmental assistance to children and mothers in developing countries

UN Habitat. United Nations agency promoting socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all.

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR). The United Nations Refugee Agency. Includes many online books, papers and statistics.

United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD). UN agency conducting research on the social dimensions of world development. Includes many documents social development issues.

UN Women. United Nations entity working for the empowerment of women and girls (formerly known as UNIFEM).

World Food Programme (WFP). The United Nations Food Agency.  World's largest food aid organization, dedicated to combating hunger in nations with severe food shortages. 

International & Regional Financial Institutions

Asian Development Bank. Information on loans, investment, and technical assistance for a broad range of Asian development projects.

African Development Bank. Regional development Bank for Africa.  See also their flagship publication African Development Review.

Caribbean Development Bank. Regional financial and economic development institution for the Caribbean.

European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. Development bank to provide project financing for Eastern Europe and Central Asia.

InterAmerican Development Bank. Regional development bank focusing on economic development and technical cooperation projects for Latin America. See also IDB America.

International Monetary Fund 

  • IMF eLibrary.  IMF periodicals, books, working papers, studies, data and statistical tools. Information  on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, , policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
  • Article IV Staff Reports. Country "surveillance reports" conducted by IMF missions teams on an ongoing basis for all member states.
  • Country Reports. Rich source of information by country: see especially the statistical appendices.
  • IMF Country Policy Intention Documents.  IMF documents prepared by countries outlining policy intentions.

Islamic Development Bank. Largest multilateral development institution in the Middle East, located in Saudi Arabia.

World Bank  

OECD iLibrary. Online library from the OECD,  an international organisation that specilizes in development assistance information. among other things.

Foreign National Governments

Africa South of the Sahara. Comprehensive web portalsfor Sub-saharan Africa, from Stanford University.

Foreign/International Governments Custom Search.  Collection of regional custom search engines from Carleton University Library. 

Foreign Government Information by Country.  Directory of government sites from the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Government in Latin AmericaProvides links to regional organizations and government information by country.

Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) information on the Internet can be located using the following directories  and the NGO search engine below. Please also see the UCB Library Research Guide on this topic.

NGO Custom Search Engine

 


Think Tank Search Engine. From Harvard Kennedy School Library.

Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more.

TakingITGlobal. International non-profit centered on young people. Good source of NGO information by country and area of focus. 

CGS PolicyArchive. Good resource for a range of full-text documents produced by think tanks (non-profit research organizations) in the United States.

Eldis. Information service providing free access to research on international development issues. Includes  summaries and links to research and policy documents.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, research and conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues. 

Project Muse. Scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences, includes many publications from overseas institutes and think tanks.

United States Federal, State & Local Governments

Govscan. Google Custom search engine that searches state and  local government websites. Search the entire web site or limit by state.

ProQuest Congressional. One-stop shopping for U.S. congressional publications.  Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including full text of published Congressional Hearings, full text Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and more.

USA.gov.  Official United States Government web portal, with specialized “gateways” for citizens, business and government employees.

USAID Documents. Online resource for USAID international development, with thousands documents available for download. Database is browseable by country and by subject.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country.

Poverty Statistics

Africa Development Indicators.  Detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries from 1961. 

AID DataMicro aid data  from around the world, articles on aid data from  journals, and "aid data raw" which allows researchers to tabulate aid data by donor, recipient, and purpose for multiple years.  Includes data visualization tools and geocoded data sets.

AIDSInfo Online. From the Joint UN Programme on HIV/AIDS. Includes data and estimates on AIDS and HIV infections worldwide, and other associated variables, from the 1990's.

China Data Online. Focuses on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development.

Data Planet. One-stop shopping to billions of data points from licensed and public domain datasets. Sources of data include local, state and international governments and organizations.

Genderstats. Indicators on key gender topics. Themes included are demographics, education, health, labor force, and political participation. From the World Bank.

Global Health Observatory Data Repository. Statistical and epidemiological data from the World Health Organization (WHO). Statistics by disease and condiation.

Human Development Report Statistics. Statistics from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Links to the text of national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

Indiastat.  Statistical data from Indian government and private sources: finance, agriculture, health, housing, transportation, and many other areas. Data is derived from documents, reports and policies from the states and national government of India. 

Laborstat. International labor statistics from 1979 to the present on employment, earnings, wages, strikes and more.

Official Statistics on the Web. Access to social, economic and general data from official government sources.  Includes statistical offices, central banks and government agencies. Features a good subject list.

OECD iLibrary. Leading International Organization for Foreign Aid data and many other indicators (primarily for OECD countries).

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

Urbaninfo. Statistical data on urban indicators, human settlements, and city profiles worldwide from the United Nations Human Settlements Programme. Database is difficult to use, not all indicators listed are available for every geography,.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country.

World Development Indicators. Time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment and much more.

World Income Inequality Database. Information for over 140 countries on income inequalities at both cross-country and time series levels with a focus on the period since 1980. See also the University of Texas Income Inequality Project.

World's Top Income Database.  Top income share time series over the long-run for more than twenty countries to date, primarily from countries in Europe, North America and Developed Asia.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.