Skip to main content

GPP 105: The Ethics, Methods, and Pragmatics of Global Practice : Background

.

Background Country Information

Cambridge Histories Online. Searchable text of the Cambridge Histories series. 

Library of Congress Country Studies. Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

CIA World Factbook. Online factual information, including maps, on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for hundreds of world entities

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU Country Reports and Profiles. In-depth analysis of current economic and political events in more than 200 countries.

Europa World. Provides political and economic information on hundreds countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. 

Human Development Report Library. Includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography. Covers all topics in human geography and related disciplines.

Oxford Reference Online - History.  Scholarly online historical encyclopedias and dictionaries, including military history, the Enlightenment, the Middle Ages, World War II, world exploration, African American history and more.

Routledge Politics and International Relations Online. Scholarly online encyclopedias and reference books on globalization, international security, political thought, peace and conflict, political chronologies, and more.

History Databases

America: History and Life. Access to journals published on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. 

Bibliography of British and Irish History. Covers historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during periods for which written documentation is available.

Bibliography of Slavery and World Slavery. Database of references to scholarly works in all disciplines and western European languages on slavery and slaving throughout the world.

Historical Abstracts. Access to journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. 

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

Periodicals Archive OnlineAn online periodical archive that provides access to digitized journals in the humanities and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Index Online, provides additional access to articles in over 4,700 periodicals

Project MUSE.Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.