Skip to main content

GPP 115: Global Poverty - Challenges and Hopes in the New Millennium: Statistics

Poverty and Aid Data

Africa Development Indicators.  Detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries from 1961. 

AID Data.  Data on development finance from bilateral and multilateral agencies at the project level. Includes data visualization tools, articles on development aid and geo-coded data sets at the project level.  

All the GINIS. Includes combined and standardized Gini data from the Luxembourg Income Study (LIS), Socio-Economic Database for Latin America (SEDLAC), Survey of Living Conditions (SILC) by Eurostat, World Income Distribution (WYD), the World Bank, and Ginis from individual long-term inequality studies. 

Barro-Lee Educational Attainment Data Set. Educational attainment data for 146 countries in 5-year intervals from 1950 to 2010. It also provides information about the distribution of educational attainment of the adult population over age 15 and 25 by sex by levels of schooling.

Center for Global Development Dataverse.  Works to change policies & practices of rich countries and powerful institutions to reduce global poverty and inequality.

Data Planet. One-stop shopping to billions of data points from licensed and public domain datasets. Sources of data include local, state and international governments and organizations.

d-Portal. From the International Aid Transparency Initiative. Comprehensive open source data from hundreds of national governments, NGOs and multilateral organizations.

FAOSTAT. Data on agriculture, food supply, food security, prices, commodities, forest products, and fisheries from the FAO.

Financial Tracking Services.   Global database which records all reported international humanitarian aid (including that for NGOs and the Red Cross / Red Crescent Movement, bilateral aid, in-kind aid, and private donations. From the UN Office for Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs

Global Financial Inclusion Database. From the World Bank and Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.  Database that measures how adults in 148 countries save, borrow, make payments and manage risk. 

International Debt Statistics. Statistical data for countries reporting public debt to the World Bank. 

International Food Policy Research Instute (IFPRI). Data on a variety of agricultural and resource topics, including  hunger and poverty, social capital, livestock and more.

Human Development Report Statistics. Famous data from the United Nations Development Programme - the Human Development Index, Gender Development Index and more. 

OECD iLibrary. Leading International Organization for Foreign Aid data. Includes International Development Statistics.

Replication Data Wiki. Serves as a database of empirical studies, the availability of replication material for them and of replication studies.

UNCTADStat. From the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development. 

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country.

World Development Indicators. Time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment and much more.

World Income Inequality Database. From United Nations University. Information for over 182 countries on income inequalities at both cross-country and time series levels over the period 1950-2015, with a focus on the period since 1980. 

World Wealth and Income Database.  Wealth and income share time series over the long-run for many countries worldwide.  This is the famous Paris School of Economics (Thoman Pikkety et al and Emmanuel Saez data project.  

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.