Skip to main content

IAS 150: Poverty and Social Policy: Introduction

Campus Library Map

Click on the image below to see a larger version of the campus library map.

small campus map that is linked to PDF

You can also view/download a map of library locations. For library contact information and building addresses, visit our directory.

Electronic Resource Finder

One of the most important research section of the library web site is the Library Electronic Resource Finder. This is the library directory of databases and other information resources, organized by subject (e.g. political science) type (e.g. encyclopedias) as well as other categories. It also contains a link to a comprehensive listing of library e-journals.

Purchase Recommendation

studying in the main stacksUse the Purchase Recommendation form to suggest items that the Library should consider for our collections. 

Catalogs and Search Engines

Find a book that matches your topic and go to the call number range to browse. Check the references and bibliography.

Start Your Search.    Books, ebooks, journal articles, JSTOR, and other content rolled into one integrated library platform.  Does not include content from many business databases, numeric data, and content from Proquest.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Google Books. Search the text of books, view previews still in copyright, and read full text of out-of-copyright books. To find a copyrighted book, use the "find in a Library" link to locate the book at UC Berkeley.

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library. 

Background Sources

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioural Sciences. The electronic version of the 26 volume IESBS set published in 2001. It contains over 3800 articles spread over 99 subject areas.

Encyclopedia of Social Work. Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, this is the 20th edition of this key reference work.

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement.  Contains over 350 articleson all aspects of Social Measurement and related social sciences, covering the core theories, methods, and techniques employed by social scientists.

Connecting from Off Campus

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.