Skip to main content

IAS 150: Poverty and Social Policy: Find Articles

Article Databases for Poverty Literature

America: History and Life. Indexes journals published worldwide on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. 

Black Studies Center (BSC). Includes The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP); and the full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender (1910-1975).

Chicano Database. Indexes materials about Mexican-American topics since 1967, and materials about other Latino cultures (Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants) since 1992. 

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online). Journals, books, policy briefs, working papers, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs analysis and advocacy materials. 

Contemporary Women's Issues. Indexes a wide range of journals, hard-to-find newsletters, reports, pamphlets, fact sheets, and guides covering a broad array of gender-related issues.

EconLit. The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes and articles within 'collective works'.

ERIC. Topics covered include all levels of education and all educational specialties. Indexes books, journals, reports, proceedings.

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research.  Free database on economics. Offering citations to thousands of full-text working papers, books and book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.

PAIS International.  Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.

PolicyFile. Index to public policy literature taken from reports from a think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection  Journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Labor Studies, Social Theory and more.

ProQuest Social Sciences. An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. 

Social Services Abstracts. Indexes scholarly and professional journals worldwide related to the fields of social work, social welfare, human services, community development, and social policy.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Indexes books, journals, and dissertations in political science, international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy.

Google Scholar Search

Find Electronic Journals

Find e-journals titles quickly by using our E-journals A-Z database.

Search for journal title:

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.  Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand!

  1. Zotero: A free plug-in that works exclusively with the Firefox browser: keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service.
  2. RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.
  3. EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central.

It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.