Skip to main content

IAS 150: Poverty and Social Policy: US Government

US Government Information Databases

American Presidency Project. Contains major publications of the U.S. Office of the President, including: Public Papers of the President, Inaugural Addresses, Executive Orders, Signing Statements, and other information.

CQ Electronic Library. A reference source on American politics and government that includes the following modules: CQ Congress Collection, CQ Political Handbook of the World, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Supreme Court, CQ Voting and Elections, CQ Washington Information Directory, CQ Weekly.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive.  Undergraduate foccused research tool covering controversial and important congressional issues. Includes summaries and bibliographies of key events and landmark legislation.   

Official California Legislative Information. Official site maintained by the Legislative Counsel of California. Includes Bill information and tracking, California Law (codes and statutes), plus the California State Constitution.

ProQuest Congressional. One stop shopping for U.S. congressional publications. Provides index and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including full text Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports from 1916-present and legislative histories from 1970-present.

ProQuest Legislative Insight. Access to more than 18,000 professionally researched legislative histories of US Law. Histories include the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports and prints, Presidential signing statements, and CRS reports.

US Government Agency Web sites

2012 HHS Poverty Guidelines. U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Lays out the two main methods for determining poverty in the U.S. and how each method works.

Administration for Children and Families (ACF)U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services (HHS) 

  • The Children's Bureau. Provides welfare for families and their children and educates the public about child welfare.
  • Office of Child Care.  Helps provide affordable, accessible, and quality child care for all Americans in need.
  • Head Start.  Serves the needs of low-income families and their childrens' early development.

Center for Faith-Based & Neighborhood Partnerships. U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services (HHS). Promotes the participation of faith-based and community-based organizations as valued and essential partners assisting Americans in need. 

HHS.govU.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services (HHS) --

Poverty. Guiding principles and progress in alleviating poverty in the U.S from the White House.

Poverty Main. Wide range of statistics and surveys on poverty in America from the Censuis Bureau.

Social Security U.S. Social Security Administration (SSA).

The Cost of Living and the Geographic Distribution of Poverty. Study on poverty measures between metro and nonmetro areas in terms of prevalence, depth, and severity.

United States Census Bureau.  The principal source of periodic U.S demographic data. Major programs include the Census of Population and Housing available via American Factfinder and the American Community Survey.

U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)Includes Poverty and Homelessness.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.