Skip to main content

IAS 150: Poverty and Social Policy: Numeric Data

Poverty and Inequality Statistics

Annual Statistical Supplement, 2010. U.S. Social Security Administration. Statistical information about Social Security payouts, Medicare, Medicaid, and other benefits programs.

ChildStats.gov.  Statistics and other information on child poverty.

County-Level Unemployment and Median Household Income. State and county unemployment and median household income.

Data Planet.  Comprehensive US statistical database that also includes some international data, e.g. from the World Bank and IMF.  Excellent place to start a browse or seaech.

EurostatPublications and statistics from the EU, with data in population, health, socio-economic, and much more. See especially the section on income social exclusion and living conditions.

Health Insurance Main.  Includes the most recent Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States report, highlights, and current and historical tables.

Income Main. From the US Census Bureau. Includes the most recent Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States report, highlights, and current and historical tables.

Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States. Presents data on income, poverty, and health insurance coverage in the United States based on information collected in the Current Population Survey Annual Social and Economic Supplements (CPS ASEC). 

Local Area Personal Income.  U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). Personal income, compensation, employment, and wages. National region, state, MSA, and county statistics from 1969 to latest.

OECD iLibrary.  The statistics section includes data on taxation, health care, employment, socieal expenditures, and many other policy indiocators.

Poverty Main. From the US Census Bureau. Statistics and surveys on poverty in America. Includes the most recent Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States, annual poverty: statistics from the American Community Survey, etc.

Social Explorer. Current and historical census data and other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and  demographic and social change

Statistical Abstract of the United States. National Data Book of the United States, functioning as a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States as well as selected international data.

United States Census Bureau.  The principal source of periodic U.S demographic data. Major programs include the Census of Population and Housing available via American Factfinder and the American Communiyt Survey.

World Development Indicators. Time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment and much more. 

World Income Inequality Database. Information for over 140 countries on income inequalities at both cross-country and time series levels over the period 1950-98, with a focus on the period since 1980. See also the University of Texas Income Inequality Project.

World's Top Income Database.  Top income share time series over the long-run for more than twenty countries to date, primarily from countries in Europe, North America and Developed Asia.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.