Skip to main content

IAS 150: Poverty and Social Policy: OECD & European Union

OECD Information

OECD iLibrary. Publications and data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, reports, and socioeconomic datasets. Includes data on taxation, health care, employment, socieal expenditures, and many other social policy indicators.

Other International Organizations

To get started finding International Governmental Organization (IGO) Information you may wish to try the following IGO Custom Search Engine, which  searches hundreds of urls of International Governmental Organizations (IGOs).

IGO Custom Search Engine

  


Global Issues on the UN Agenda. UN Reference tool for links to online documents, agencies, and other resources on a wide range of important topics on the UN Agenda.

Human Development Report LibraryThe web site includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

UN Habitat. United Nations agency for human settlements mandated by the UN General Assembly to promote socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all.

European Union

EU Directorate General for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion.  Responsibility for policy in the field of employment, social affairs and inclusion is shared between the EU and its member countries.

European Platform Against Poverty and Social Exclusion. One of seven EU flagship initiatives of the Europe 2020 strategy for smart, sustainable and inclusive growth.

European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. Development bank to provide project financing for Easterm Europe and Central Asia.

European Union Humanitarian Aid Office (ECHO). Humanitarian aid office of the European Union. Site includes lists of publications and decisions. 

European Foundation for the Improvment of Living and Working Conditions. EU body that conducts surveys on employment and social conditions in EU countries: the European Quality of Life Survey, the European Working Conditions Survey and the European Survey on Working Time and Work-Life Balance.

Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) information on the Internet can be located using the following directories  and the NGO search engine below. Please also see the UCB Library Research Guide on this topic.

NGO Custom Search Engine

 


Think Tank Search Engine. From Harvard Kennedy School Library.

Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more.

TakingITGlobal. International non-profit centered on young people. Good source of NGO information by country and area of focus. 

CGS PolicyArchive. Good resource for a range of full-text documents produced by think tanks (non-profit research organizations) in the United States.

Eldis. Information service providing free access to research on international development issues. Includes  summaries and links to research and policy documents.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, research and conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues. 

Project Muse. Scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences, includes many publications from overseas institutes and think tanks.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.