Skip to main content

ISF 189: Thesis Preparation : Find Articles

Strategies for preparing to write an ISF thesis.

International topics databases

These three databases are policy and political science oriented.

Economics and business databases

News sources

IT and New Media databases

For more possibilities, look at the Media Studies databases.

Health databases

Finding Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1.  Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...

2.  From the Library home page, select "Databases" and then click on "Browse All Databases." On the next screen, use the drop down menu for All Subjects to find your discipline.
search databases on the home page screenshot

Select the appropriate academic disciplines and then look for "Recommended" databases.

Where's the PDF?

Many article databases contain information about articles (citations or abstracts), not the entire text of the article.  Once you've used an article database to find articles on your topic, you may need to use this button:uc-eLinks button in order to locate and read the full text of the article. The UC-eLinks button appears in nearly all the databases available from the UCB Library website.

UC-eLinks will link you to the online full text of an article if UCB has paid for online access; otherwise, UC-eLinks will help you locate a print copy on the shelf in the library. If UCB doesn't own the article in print or online format, UC-eLinks can also help you order a copy from another library.

For more information, watch this video tutorial (about 4 min.)

You can also set up UC-eLinks to work with Google Scholar.  For more information, watch this 40-second demo.

Find a seminal article

Find an influential article, one that has been cited frequently.  Use the multidisciplinary database Web of Science.

  1. Enter your search terms.
  2. Analyze by Research Area [see left side navigation column]
  3. Choose one or more research areas
  4. Rank the new results by Times Cited, most to least.

Review articles

In a review article, a scholar or group of scholars gathers all the research articles on a particular topic, and after reading them, writes an article reviewing and evaluating them. Finding a review article or two on a topic allows you to quickly gain a picture of the state of knowledge regarding that topic. In most article databases it is possible to limit your searches to research and/or review articles.

While review articles are available through any database of professional literature, the Annual Reviews database is devoted exclusively to providing access to review articles in a large number of academic disciplines.

 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.