Skip to main content

ISF 190: Thesis Seminar: Find Articles

Advice, suggestions and strategies for researching your ISF Thesis.

Choose your own database

The Library has over 1200 different databases on all disciplines.  Find the right one for your research

International topics databases

These three databases are policy and political science oriented.

Economics and business databases

News sources

IT and New Media databases

For more possibilities, look at the Media Studies databases.

Where's the PDF?

Many article databases contain information about articles (citations or abstracts), not the entire text of the article.  Once you've used an article database to find articles on your topic, you may need to use this button:uc-eLinks button in order to locate and read the full text of the article. The UC-eLinks button appears in nearly all the databases available from the UCB Library website.

UC-eLinks will link you to the online full text of an article if UCB has paid for online access; otherwise, UC-eLinks will help you locate a print copy on the shelf in the library. If UCB doesn't own the article in print or online format, UC-eLinks can also help you order a copy from another library.

For more information, watch this video tutorial (about 4 min.)

You can also set up UC-eLinks to work with Google Scholar.  For more information, watch this 40-second demo.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.