Skip to main content
Here is a short list of useful articles databases for Japanese studies. Note that many of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold "UC-eLinks" button to do an automated search to find the full text.
- Bibliography of Asian studies (BAS): Indexes to scholarly sources written in English in all subject areas on countries in Asia
- CiNii: Indexes to academic journal articles from Japan and provides full-text for some journals. Also available as a part of GeNii.CiNii provides mobile phone interface.
- JAIRO: Full text journal articles and other various digital resources produced by Japanese universities; provided by the National Institute of Informatics. Also available as a part of GeNii.
- Kokubungaku Ronbun Mokuroku Dētabēsu 国文学論文目録データベース: Covers articles in Japanese literary studies since 1912.
- MagazinPlus: Indexes to journal articles from Japan published since 1948, articles in popular Japanese magazines since 1980, and essays in festschriften, conference papers, books, annuals, and research reports since 1945.
- NDL Japanese Periodicals Index = 雑誌記事索引 (in NDL-OPAC): RSS feed is available from 雑誌記事索引採録誌一覧. Also available in 国立国会図書館サーチ
- Senryōki zasshi kiji jōhō dētabēsu 占領期雑誌記事情報データベース: Indexes to magazine and newspaper articles published between 1945 and 1949 held in the Prange Collection at the University of Maryland, which originally belonged to the Civil Censorship Detachment, a unit within GHQ.
- Taiyō 太陽 / Bungei kurabu 文芸倶楽部: An online version of the journals Taiyō (1895-1928) and Bungei kurabu (1895-1912).
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu 雑誌記事索引集成データベース = The Complete Database for Japanese Magazine and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present: Indexes to journal and magazine articles from Japan published since the Meiji period (1868-1912), with links to NACSIS Webcat, WebcatPlus, and the National Diet Library's OPAC.
Selected Print Article Indexes
- Ōya Sōichi Bunko zasshi kiji sakuin sōmokuroku 大宅壮一文庫雑誌記事索引総目録: Covers articles published on popular magazines since the Meiji period through 1995. Cataloged in multiple titles.
- Senzenki yondai fujin zasshi mokuji shūsei 戦前期四大婦人雑誌目次集成 (ゆまに書房, 2002-2006): Consists of Fujin kōron 婦人公論 (1916-1950, Call no.: HQ1104 .F726 2002), Shufu no tomo 主婦の友 (1927-1950, Call no.: HQ1104 .S58 2003), Fujin kurabu 婦人俱樂部 (Oct. 1920-1950, Call no.: AP95.J2 F842 2006), and Fujin gahō 婦人画報 (July 1905-1950, Call no.: HQ1104 .F724 2004)
Selected Journals (Western Languages)
Here is a list of selected journals in Western languages covering the field of Japanese studies, many of which are available both online and print:
Selected Journals (Japanese)
Here is a list of selected journals in Japanese literary studies: