Skip to main content

POLI SCI 171: California Politics: Books+Articles

This guide provides resources for the PS171 initiative case study and term paper assignments.

Find Books

Use OskiCat to locate materials related to your topic in UC Berkeley libraries. OskiCat will show you the location and availability of the items that we own.

To limit an OskiCat search to materials at the IGS Library, change Entire Collection to Institute of Governmental Studies.

Use Melvyl to locate materials at other UC system libraries (and other libraries worldwide). Click the REQUEST button on an item record to request the item through interlibrary loan.

Research Support From Other Libraries

Research help - Contact a librarian in person, by phone, by email or chat for assistance with your research.

Study spaces - Find study areas for students in Doe, Gardner (Main) Stacks and Moffitt Libraries.

Find Articles

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications. Full-text is available for over 5300 journals.

ProQuest Social Sciences
Search social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.

JSTOR
Full-text access to over 1,000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
Citations for journal articles spanning all Social Science disciplines; provides searching of footnoted citations. Specify Social Science Citation Index search only by deselecting other Indexes in "Limits".

Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS)

The Interlibrary Borrowing Service assists UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff request books, articles and other materials not available at UC Berkeley (e.g. the material is in-use, in process, missing, at the bindery, not owned) using Melvyl and other interlibrary borrowing tools.

Interlibrary Services
133 Doe Library
UC Berkeley
(510) 642-7365

Fall and Spring Semester Hours:
Monday - Friday: 10am - 4pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

1. Find a source: use Mevyl or Worldcat to find an owning library.

2. Request through ILL:  IBS Request Form

  • Log in with your CalNet Login information or UC Berkeley Library card/Cal1Card number and OskiCat PIN.
  • Choose the radio button that matches the type of material you are requesting, and provide as much information as possible in the available fields. Use the “Notes” field to provide any additional information (do not input personal information).

In person - You can visit Interlibrary Services at 133 Doe Library where the staff can assist you with your request.

Electronically filled articles or part(s) of book requested are delivered to you via email listed in the UC Berkeley directory. Articles filled via Fax or US Post will be mailed to you at the address in the UC Berkeley directory.

 Use My ILL to view the status of your ILL requests.

News Sources

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.