Skip to main content

Botany: Special Databases

A guide for researchers of systematic and taxonomic botany, and those studying plant and fungal diversity.

Resources

ABRS Flora Online: Australian Biological Resources Study – botanical descriptions of the flora of Australia.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
part of a global “biodiversity commons.”

Botanicus Digital Library:
a free portal to an encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

CalFlora Database: native and introduced wild plants in California. Species accounts include CA distribution, habitat, specimen information, and links to the Jepson Manual entries. 

Descriptions of fungi and bacteria: CABI Bioscience (includes former International Mycological Institute (IMI) the pre-eminent global taxonomy / information provider on fungi. 

efloras.org: search selection of online floras with detailed botanical descriptions from around the world!

Flora Zambesiaca: Kew Royal Botanic Gardens, a searchable database of a compilation of floras from south central Africa.

Harvard University Herbaria: Harvard University Herbaria Databases:
links to the International Plant Names Index, Botanists, Publications, and Specimens.

Harvard University Herbaria Digital Collections

International Plant Names Index

Internet Directory for Botany (IDB): extensive directory of botanical web resources. 

Jepson Flora Project: includes the Jepson Manual Online - the Flora Project site links to numerous databases and manuals. The Jepson Manual online has species accounts including distribution maps and botanical descriptions of California plants.

JSTOR Global Plants: online archive of plant specimens, photographs, drawings, prints, paintings, articles, correspondence, reference works, and other materials.

Kew Bibliographic Databases (KBD) -  access to:
KR - The Kew Record of Taxonomic Literature
PMBD - the Plant Micromorphological Bibliographic Database
EBBD - the Economic Botany Bibliographic Database

Kew - ePIC, Electronic Plant Information Centre: search Kew Royal Botanical Gardens’ checklists, databases, bibliographies, and publications. Particularly useful for taxonomic queries: search the International Plant Names Index and checklists.

Plant Information Online from the University of Minnesota -
Citations to Plant Info & Images - includes the Flowering Plant Index. Selected Links to Plant Info & Images. Plant and Seed Sources

The PLANTS Database:
species accounts, classification, distribution, and links to resources for plants occurring in the United States. Maintained by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Tropicos.org:
Search names, specimens, references, images, and other resources from the Missouri Botanical Gardens.

Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps Checklist:
Directory of plant distribution maps, UC Berkeley’s Earth Sciences and Map Library.  

General links

Biodiversity Heritage Library: consortium of the world's largest natural history libraries, includes digitized content.

BiologyBrowser: free biological databases, identification keys, and more.

Understanding Evolution: project of the University of California Museum of Paleontology and the National Center for Science Education.

new resources

AmphibiaWeb
Site inspired by global amphibian declines free access to information on amphibian biology and conservation

Biodiversity Hotspots
"the 25 richest and most threatened reservoirs of plant and animal life on Earth." Search by name of spot, or click on the map to access vital statistics ecosystem, biodiversity, human impacts, and conservation information a detailed map and related links. Also includes a glossary and a definition of the word "hotspots."

Botanical.com A Modern Herbal
Botanical.com A Modern Herbal is an electronic version of Mrs. Maud Grieve's 1931 edition of A Modern Herbal. It describes over 800 varieties of medicinal, culinary, and cosmetic herbs.

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Archives
The Archives of the Laboratory contain books, papers, correspondence, and photographs relating to the history of genetics and molecular biology. The website contains their online catalog, links to databases/books, and descriptions of special collections such as the James D. Watson Archives.

IUCN-The World Conservation Union
This organization maintains lists and estimated counts of endangered wildlife throughout the world.

National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII)
information and access to biological databases, information products, directories, and guides maintained by Federal, state, and local government agencies, and private organizations.

Nature Conservancy
This group seeks to maintain natural habitats so that wildlife can flourish.

NSDL Scout Report for Life Sciences
This National Science Foundation sponsored site provides updated lists of valuable and authoritative online resources for: Biology, Zoology, Botany, and other Life Science topics.

The complete work of Charles Darwin online
This site contains Darwin's complete publications and many of his handwritten manuscripts. There are over 50,000 searchable text pages and 40,000 images. Largest Darwin bibliography and manuscript catalogue ever published.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Incredible resource for molecular biology information. Includes publicly accessible databases, some with full text access to journals and books, also tools for analyzing genome data intended for the researcher. Try searching a living organism by choosing Taxonomy from the drop down menu in the top left-hand corner of the Website.

The World Wildlife Fund
The World Wildlife Fund offers the latest news and information on endangered species.

Virtual Library: Biosciences
Portal site. See Biotechnology and Genetics sections for links to a multitude of sites with information on these topics, including databases, journals, directories and commercial sites.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.