Amphibian Species of the World - For amphibians. From the American Museum of Natural History.
The Arbor Day Foundation - Tree Taxonomy guide
Catalog of Fishes
edited by William N. Eschmeyer. California Academy of Sciences, 3 volumes, c1998. Online version contains some newer material. LSF TL618 C38 1998
Common and Scientific Names of Fishes
from the United States, Canada, and Mexico, American Fisheries Society Special Publication 34 CSSSI Reference QL627 C66X 2013 (LC)
Describing Species: Practical Taxonomic Procedure for Biologists
by Judith E. Winston. Columbia University Press, 1999. An aid to those doing taxonomic work. LSF QH83 W57X 1999
Eponym Dictionary of Amphibians
by B. Beolens, M. Watkins, M. Grayson. Pelagic Publishing, 2013. CSSSI QL640.7 B455 2013 (LC)
FishBase - Names, pictures, references, glossary
by Charles Davies Sherborn. covers animal names 1758-1850. In 1902, the first part was published, with animal genus and species name listings beginning with published literature from 1758 and including both fossil and living animals. The second part, 8 volumes, was published in 1922 and covers the literature of named animals from 1801 to 1850.
International Code of Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN).
The code, now in its 4th edition, is the set of rules for naming and registering names of organisms, as adopted by the International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature and passed by the International Union of Biological Sciences. The 3rd edition was published in 1985 and the first in the early 1960s. The content of the latest edition supercedes that of the previous editions. Text is in both English and French. Includes a code of ethics and glossary. LSF QL353 I5 1999
Latin Names Explained. A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles, Birds & Mammals
by A.F. Gotch. Facts on File, 1995. Gives brief explanations for Order and Family names, common names. LSF QL9 G67 1996
list of the names of genera and subgenera in zoology from the tenth edition of Linnaeus 1758 to the end of 1935 by Sheffield Airey Neave. This set of four volumes plus three supplements began publication in 1939 by the Zoological Society of London. Publication was completed in 1965. Provided are original name references (genus and subgenus) to published or privately printed literature of zoology, 1758-1965. CSSSI QL354 N65
Nomenclator Animalium Generum et Subgenerum
by FE Schulze and W Kukenthal. A work with lengthy bibliography at the start. Published 1926-1956, in Berlin. Use in consultation with other sources. CSSSI QL354 N6 (LC) Oversize 5 volumes
The Reptile Database -
Taxonomic data on over 10,000 living species of lizards, snakes, tuataras, crocodiles, amphisbaenians, and turtles. From the German Herpetological Society's Systematics Working
The Taxonomy Database, NCBI.
Curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/taxonomy
Tree of Life:
Taxon pages in development, most contain images, references, and taxonomic information.
database of trees derived from phylogenetic analyses. Search by taxon, author, citation, and more. Results include bibliographic information and phylogenetic trees pulled from the studies.
founded in 2001 as a print and online journal of systematic zoology. It was designed to help systematic zoologists to rapidly document and analyze world’s zoological diversity, which includes many undescribed species now threatened by the rapid loss of habitats. Overcoming the ‘taxonomic impediment’ by helping taxonomists to rapidly document world’s undescribed animals is Zootaxa’s main mission.