Skip to main content

Social Welfare 110: Social Work as a Profession: Search Tips and Citations

Searcg Tips and Citations

Most databases have these common -- but powerful -- search features. Using them helps you retrieve more relevant results.

Combining Terms, OR and AND

Combine terms using OR and AND (Boolean Operators) for a more focused search.  OR for synonyms, AND to add two concepts.

  • teenager OR adolescent
  • adolescent AND anorexia
  • (teenager OR adolescent) AND (anorexia OR bulimia)

Wildcards (truncation) and phrases

Sometimes you want all forms of the word -- teenager, teenagers, teenaged. Rather than combining with OR, you can use the *.

The asterisk (*) is a powerful feature that can stand in for any number of letters after the root. So anorex* will retrieve anorexia, anorexic, anorexics, etc.

If you want to search on an exact phrase, you can enter it in quotation marks ("anorexia nervosa")

UC eLinks and Citation Linker

Sometimes the database you search doesn't link to the fulltext -- it only gives the citation. Click the UC e-links button to see if Berkeley has it online, and if not, it will check for a print version.  And if we don't have it at all, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.

What if there isn't a UC e-links button??? Sometimes you find an article in a bibliography, a book or a footnote -- and you want to see if we have it. The Citation Linker searches through our online databases to see if it's available fulltext. If not, it sets up a search for the item in Melvyl. And if we don't have it at Berkeley, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Boolean Operators

Using APA 6th

"Cheat Sheets" -- very handy guides showing examples of the different types of citations formatted according to APA 6th, from Wake Forest, Purdue and Harvard.

The fulltext of APA 6th is not available online, but we do have print copies in the reference collection of the Social Welfare and EdPsych Libraries at BF76.7 P83 2010, and it's available at other libraries on campus as well.

Basics of APA Style -- tutorial from APA on how to how to structure and format your work, reduce bias in language, avoid charges of plagiarism, cite references in text and it  provides selected reference examples. The APA Style Blog --  is searchable by topic and contains weekly posts by APA experts . They also provide help on common questions -- such as How to cite a source found in another source?

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.