Founded in 1972, the Art History/Classics Library (AH/C), is one of several campus subject specialty libraries created to support scholarly research for students and faculty in the Departments of History of Art, Art Practice, Classics, and Ancient History and Mediterranean Archaeology. AH/C Head Librarians include Susan Craig (1974-1981), Ann Gilbert (1981-1996), and Kathryn Wayne (1997-2016). Classics Selectors (half-time appointments) include David Sullivan (2000-2008), John Ceballos (interim 2009-2015) and Jeremy Ott (2015-present). The current Unit Head for the Art History/Classics Library is Holly Hatheway (2015-present), and the current Art Librarian is Lynn Cunningham (2017-present).
The AH/C Library is comprised of 6,124 sf, and was remodeled extensively in 1997 through a Campus Minor Capital Project Award, and again in 2011 as part of the Doe Library Dormer Drains Refurbishment Project. A Feasibility Study for a Visual Arts Library (architect Stanley Saitowitz) was commissioned by the Library in 1999 but not realized.
Collections are comprised of scholarly print and online reference sources, core texts and journals, catalogue raisonnés, exhibition catalogs, major corpora of epigraphic, numismatic, paleographic, papyrological and art historical documents supporting works, archaeological site reports, along with important microfiche collections. The majority of the Fine Arts Collection (over 180,000 volumes) and Classics Collection are housed in the Art History/Classics Library (308 Doe), the Doe Library (Main Gardner Stacks) and off-site in the Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF). Archives on artists and original art are housed in the Bancroft Library.
Access to licensed UCB Library resources from off campus requires that students, faculty, and staff first configure their computer using one of two methods:
Library Proxy Server. After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID when you click on the link to a licensed resource. Link includes setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser before you start researching.
VPN (Virtual Private Network). After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.
Thanks to generous donors, endowments have been established for the Fine Arts Collections:
The Stuart and Gail Buchalter Fund for the Study of Contemporary Art (1997)
The Elizabeth Marsteller Gordon Endowment for the Art History Collections (1999)
Photography Endowed Fund (2007)
The Greil and Jenelle Marcus Endowment Fund for Acquisitions in the History of Art (2012)
Access may be granted to non-UC-affilliated patrons in need of material located in the AH/C Library. Visiting patrons will be required to fill out a Day Pass, with name, address, and specific item needed.
All other special requests for access should be directed to the Art Librarian, Lynn Cunningham, (email@example.com), for art history-related research, and the Classics Librarian, Jeremy Ott (firstname.lastname@example.org), for classics-related research.
We request that all patrons be prepared to show appropriate ID when requested by staff.
Please also see the borrowing policies related to the Doe Library.