A searchable database of texts written in the Middle Ages now available in modern editions and translations, printed or online. Includes literary works, devotional treatises, philosophical writings, private letters, wills, household accounts, chronicles, court proceedings, etc.
A multi-disciplinary bibliography of the Renaissance and the early modern period (1500-1700) which includes monographs, critical editions, translations, anthologies, miscellanies and exhibition catalogues to specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias, handbooks, journal articles and reviews written in any language and presented in any format. (Brepols) [1965-present]
The IBHR is a continuation of the Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance, coordinated and published by Librairie Droz since 1965. The core of the Bibliography focuses on European history and culture that spans the 16th and 17th centuries, and encompasses a broad spectrum of subjects, ranging from religious history through to philosophy, science and the arts; and from military and political history through to social and gender studies. Both the geographical and the chronological delimitations are not restrictive as the IBHR also includes publications on the European interactions with the wider world through exploration, colonization, slavery and the Christian mission and extends its coverage to the modern period with the inclusion of modern hermeneutics, reception studies and the 21st century teaching of texts written in the target period.
Authoritative multidisciplinary research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.