Skip to main content

On the Same Page: Just Mercy: Finding More

Use this research guide to further explore the themes of this year's On the Same Page book

Finding Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic.  The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1.  Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic.  Examples:  literature, film, anthropology, history...

2.  From the Library home page, select "Databases" and then click on "Browse All Databases." On the next screen, use the drop down menu for All Subjects to find your discipline.
search databases on the home page screenshot

Select the appropriate academic disciplines and then look for "Recommended" databases.

Examples of Useful Article Databases

The search box on the Library home page  ("Start Your Search") searches the Library Catalog -  http://oskicat.berkeley.eduOskiCat and many, but not all, article databases. See the guide for more details.

Sample Searches

"black lives matter"
"juvenile justice"
"criminal justice reform*"
criminalization of mental illness
"criminal justice" women
"prison industrial complex"
"prison abolition"
privatization of prison*

 

  • in ProQuest Social Sciences and "Start Your Search" along with many other article databases, you can select a checkbox to limit your results to scholarly articles
  • quotes keep terms together as a phrase (ex:  "global warming")
  • * = truncation/wildcard symbol; retrieves alternative word endings (child* = child, childs, children, childhood, childish...)

 

Ask a Librarian 24/7 Chat

You can type your question directly into this chat window to chat with a librarian. Your question may be answered by a reference librarian from Berkeley, from another UC campus, or another academic library elsewhere in the world.  We share information about our libraries to make sure you get good answers.

If the librarian can't answer you well enough, your question will be referred to a Berkeley librarian for follow-up.

Have fun chatting!

Research help

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.